The six participating institutions have their own eligibility requirements. They are Boston University, Medical College of Wisconsin, Northwestern University, Stanford University, University Hospitals of Cleveland and Vanderbilt University.

Consult participant websites for details.

Here are some general eligibility parameters for candidates:

  • Must be from underrepresented communities - Groups eligible include:
  • Must be interested in a health care-related field.
  • Must display exemplary academic performance.
  • Must be full-time undergraduate, rolling into their sophomore, junior or senior year.
  • Must be able to dedicate 8-10 weeks between the end of May and mid-August.
  • Must present at a symposium at the end of the program.
  • Immigration requirements: At time of application, the student must be a United States citizen, or a foreign national holding a student, exchange or permanent resident visa, including an F-1, H1, H1B, J1, PR, TC or TN visa. Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) status requires additional AHA approval to apply. Send an email to [email protected] with an explanation of the student’s status.