Outstanding Research Award in Pediatric Cardiology

Sponsored by the Council on Lifelong Congenital Heart Disease and Heart Health in the Young

This award features innovative and outstanding research that results in fundamental insights in the pathophysiology, etiology, treatment or outcome of cardiovascular disease in young people.

Three awards will be presented annually to authors who submit abstracts for consideration to the AHA's Scientific Sessions. The first authors of the three highest-scoring abstracts in the Young Hearts abstract categories will be honored.

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Kenta Hirai, MD, PhD
    2023 Kurt Robert Schumacher, MD, MS
    2023 Yao Wu, PhD
    2022 Kimberley Miles, MD
  • 2022 Michael A. Portman, MD, FAHA
  • 2022 Simon Lee, MD
  • 2021 Andrea Z. Beaton, MD, FAHA
  • 2021 Stephanie Santana, MD
  • 2021 Caren S. Goldberg, MD
  • 2020 Christin Y. Park, BA
  • 2020 Lars Grosse-Wortmann, MD, FRCPC
  • 2020 Michelle Udine, MD

Eligibility Criteria

  • Any investigator is eligible, regardless of career stage, citizenship or nationality (includes individuals in training).
  • Only one abstract per candidate will be considered.
  • Previous recipients of this award are eligible for consideration in subsequent years.
  • Membership in the American Heart Association by the applicant is strongly encouraged but not mandatory.
  • The abstract must comply with the Abstract Submission Guidelines as outlined by the Committee on Scientific Sessions Program.

Evaluation Criteria

Evaluation Criteria Selection of the top three candidates is based on scientific excellence of the abstracts. Three abstracts from the top 10 highest-scoring abstracts submitted to any Scientific Sessions category primarily sponsored by the Council on Lifelong Congenital Heart Disease and Heart Health in the Young will be selected to win the award. Please view a list of Scientific Sessions Council Awards and Travel Grants Available by Abstract Category and Community (PDF), The first author on each of the three abstracts will be the sole winner.

How to Apply/Required Documents

All abstracts must be received through the AHA's Scientific Sessions online submission site at Scientific Sessions. Please note that a formal application does not take place for this award. Any three of the ten top-ranking abstracts submitted to any category primarily sponsored by the Council on Lifelong Congenital Heart Disease and Heart Health in the Young will be automatically eligible to win an award.


Three winners will be notified in August. The three winning abstracts will be presented orally in a special session at the AHA's Scientific Sessions in November. The winners will be noted in the Scientific Sessions Final Program and the abstracts will be published in the October Scientific Sessions online supplement issue of Circulation. (Acceptance does not guarantee publication in any other American Heart Association-sponsored journal.)

The winners will also receive:

  • Engraved plaque
  • Complimentary council dinner ticket and recognition at the Young Hearts Council Dinner at Scientific Sessions


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois