Council on Lifestyle and Cardiometabolic Health Distinguished Achievement Award

The LCH Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the EPI|Lifestyle Joint Council Dinner at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions or at the EPI|Lifestyle Scientific Sessions. The award recognizes Council on Lifestyle and Cardiometabolic Health members who have made major contributions to the affairs of the LCH Council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the LCH Leadership Committee by email. Current members of the LCH Leadership Committee and the LCH Nominating Committee are not eligible to be nominated for the award.


Award Recipients

2019 Jean-Pierre Després, CQ, PhD, FAHA
2016 Lora E. Burke, PhD, MPH, FAHA
2013 Barbara Howard, PhD, FAHA
2010 William Haskell, PhD, FAHA
2007 Alice Lichtenstein, DSc, FAHA
2004 Robert Eckel, MD, FAHA
2001 Ronald M. Krauss, MD


The honoree will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the EPI Lifestyle Joint Council Dinner
  • Reimbursement for eligible travel expenses up to $1,000


Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers