Excellence Award for Hypertension Research

To qualify for this award, you must meet the following deadlines:

This award honors excellence in research and discoveries in the field of hypertension, as well as a researcher's contributions. The selection committee assesses the candidates' impact on their fields throughout their productive careers, as well as any single discovery.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Must be a member of the AHA Council on Hypertension at the time nomination is submitted. Join or renew today!
  • Scientists with a background in hypertension research and those who have made a meritorious scientific discovery or discoveries, either alone or with others, may be considered. The Selection Committee will assess the candidates' overall credentials and their impact on the field of hypertension.
  • A scientist may be nominated an unlimited number of times by different individuals in the same year.
  • Previous winners are not eligible for nomination.
  • Nominators may submit an updated application in subsequent years through the Council Awards & Fellowships Application System for nominees not selected. 
  • Due to the prestige of the Excellence in Hypertension Research Award (including previous names for the award), past recipients are not eligible to apply or be nominated for other awards sponsored by the Council on Hypertension.
  • Each recipient of AHA council-sponsored awards, regardless of award category, is eligible to receive only one council-sponsored award each year per AHA scientific meeting.
  • Members of the Council on Hypertension Excellence Award in Hypertension Research Selection Committee are not eligible to write letters of support for the applicant.

How to Make a Nomination / Required Documents

Electronic submission through the Council Awards Application System is required. Hard copies of any part of the nomination cannot be accepted.

The nomination file (submitted on the nominee’s behalf) should contain the following documents in PDF format:

  • Letter of nomination on behalf of the candidate or candidates that outlines a description of the work or discovery that qualifies for consideration for the award (members of the Excellence Award for HTN research selection committee cannot submit letters of nomination).
  • Curriculum vitae, including all publications (abstracts not necessary).
  • Three reference letters, one primary and two supporting, written on electronic letterhead, from people familiar with the candidate’s work and scientific contributions to the field of hypertension.
  • Electronic copies of up to three of the candidate’s most important publications.
  • Candidate biography (250 words or less), which may be used for publicity.

Visit the Council Awards Application System to complete a nomination.

A username and password previously set up through online profile registration at Professional Heart Daily will be necessary to access the Application System. If you have not created an online profile yet, please visit Professional Heart Daily to create an online member profile before accessing the Council Awards Application System. AHA Professional Members who are creating an online profile for the first time should make sure to register using their AHA membership identification numbers.


The winner will present a lecture during the Hypertension Scientific Sessions and will receive complimentary registration, a $2,500 honorarium, two (2) tickets to the Hypertension Scientific Sessions Awards Banquet, and an award medal medallion.

Honorees must attend Hypertension Scientific Sessions in-person to be eligible for a travel reimbursement of up to $1,000.

  • Round-trip basic economy/coach airfare at the 21-day advance purchase rate, round-trip economy coach train fare, or reimbursement for gas at the rate allowed by the IRS for charitable organizations if the awardee drives.
  • Hotel accommodation for one night at the conference rate.
  • Ground transportation expenses to attend the conference (luxury transport is not a reimbursable expense.)
    • To and from the awardee’s home airport to the conference hotel
    • To and from the conference hotel to the airport
  • Up to $70 in meal reimbursement (alcohol excluded).

Award Recipients

The Excellence Award for Hypertension Research

The Excellence Award for Hypertension Research
Year Awardee
2023 Lisa A. Cassis, PhD
2022 Joey P. Granger, PhD, FAHA
Edwin K. Jackson, PhD, FAHA
2021 Alan Kim Johnson, PhD, FAHA
Daniel Levy, MD, FAHA
Jane F. Reckelhoff, PhD, FAHA, FAPS
2020 Giuseppe Mancia, MD, PhD
2019 Rhian M. Touyz, MBBCh, PhD, FMedSci, FAHA
2018 Paul K. Whelton, MB, MD, MSc, FAHA
R. Clinton Webb, PhD, FAHA
2017 Allyn L. Mark, MD, FAHA
Richard J. Roman, PhD, FAHA
2016 Suzanne Oparil, MD, FAHA
R. Ariel Gomez , MD, FAHA
2015 Costantino Iadecola, MD
Pedro Jose, MD, PhD, FAHA
2014 Thomas M. Coffman, MD
Toshiro Fujita, MD, PhD
2013 Murray Esler, MBBS, PhD
2012 Robert M. Carey, MD, FAHA
L. Gabriel Navar, PhD, FAHA


The Novartis Award For Hypertension Research

The Novartis Award For Hypertension Research
Year Awardee
2011 Ernesto L. Schiffrin, MD, PhD
Christopher Wilcox, MD, PhD
2010 John Oates, MD
Paul Vanhoutte, MD, PhD
2009 Carlos M. Ferrario, MD
Curt D. Sigmund, PhD
2008 Mordecai P. Blaustein, MD
John W. Funder, MD, PhD
Juan Carlos Romero, MD
2007 Friedrich C. Luft, MD
2006 William B. Campbell, PhD
Theodore W. Kurtz, MD
2005 Kenneth Bernstein, MD
Barry Brenner, MD
2004 Jorge H. Capdevila, PhD
David G. Harrison, MD
2003 M. Judah Folkman, MD
2002 John E. Hall, PhD
Gerald F. DiBona, MD
2001 Victor J. Dzau, MD
2000 Hans R. Brunner, MD
Jay N. Cohn, MD
Haralambos Gavras, MD
1999 Richard P. Lifton, MD, PhD
1998 Masashi Yanagisawa, MD, PhD
1997 Oscar A. Carretero, MD
Allen W. Cowley, Jr., PhD
Donald Dean Heistad, MD


The Ciba Award For Hypertension Research

The Ciba Award For Hypertension Research
Year Awardee
1996 Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD
Oliver Smithies, DPhil
1995 Louis J. Ignarro, PhD
Salvador Moncada, MD, PhD, DSc, FRS
1994 Adolfo J. Debold, OC, PhD, FRSC
Ervin G. Erdos, MD
1993 John Paul Rapp, DVM, PhD
1992 Detlev Ganten, MD, PhD
1991 Salomon Z. Langer, MD
Andrew P. Somlyo, MD
Avril V. Somlyo, PhD
1990 Francois M. Abboud, MD
Michael J. Brody, PhD
1989 Edgar Haber, MD
1988 Robert R. Furchgott, PhD
Ferld Murad, MD, PhD
1987 Donald J. Reis, MD
1986 Maurice B. Burg, MD
John C. McGiff, MD
E. Eric Muirhead, MD
1985 Pierre Corvol, MD
Joel Menard, MD
Tadashi Inagami, PhD
1984 David R. Bohr, MD
1983 David W. Cushman, PhD
Miguel A. Ondetti, PhD
Sergio Henrique Ferrelra, MD, PhD
1982 Kyuzo Aoki, MD
Kozo Okamoto, MD
Yukio Yamori, MD
1981 Edward D. Freis, MD
William B. Kannel, MD
1980 Bjorn U.G. Folkow, MD, PhD
Arthur C. Guyton, MD
1979 Karl H. Beyer, Jr., MD
James M. Sprague, PhD
1978 Louis Tobian, Jr., MD
1977 John A. Luetscher, MD
James F. Talt, FRS Sylvia Talt, Bsc, FRS
1976 Raymond P. Ahlquist, PhD
James W. Black, FRS
1975 Lewis K. Dahl, MD
James O. Davis, MD
Walter Kempner, MD


The Stouffer Prize

The Stouffer Prize
Year Awardee
1972 Vincent P. Dole, MD
John W. Gofman, MD
Robert S. Gordon, Jr, MD
John L. Oncley, MD
1970 Irvine H. Page, MD
Sir George Pickering, MD
1969 Jerome W. Conn, MD
Jacques Genest, MD
Franz Gross, MD
John H. Laragh, MD
1968 F. Merlin Bumpus, PhD
W. Stanley Peart, MD
Robert Schwyzer, PhD
Leonard T. Skeggs Jr., PhD
1967 John W. Cornforth, MD
U.S. Von Euler, MD
Peter Holtz, MD
George J. Pipjak, MD
1966 Harry Goldblatt, MD
Ernst Klenk, MD
2018 Excellence Award for Hypertension Research honorees R. Clinton Webb, PhD, FAHA and Paul K. Whelton, MD, MSc, MBBCH, FAHA
2018 honorees R. Clinton Webb, PhD, FAHA and Paul K. Whelton, MD, MSc, MBBCH, FAHA
black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Award winners pose for a photo during #Hypertension23 Scientific Sessions, held September 7-10, 2023, in Boston, Massachusetts.

Hypertension Scientific Sessions

September 5–8, 2024
Hilton Chicago | Chicago, Illinois