2023 James B. Herrick Award Lecturer - Patrick T. O'Gara, MD, MACC, FAHA, FESC

Patrick O'Gara

Patrick T. O'Gara, MD, MACC, FAHA, FESC

Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA


Patrick T. O'Gara, MD, MACC, FAHA, FESC, is the Watkins Family Distinguished Chair in Cardiology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. His undergraduate and medical school degrees were earned at Yale University (1974) and Northwestern University (1978).

Upon completion of his internal medicine and cardiology training at Massachusetts General Hospital (1984), he spent 18 months as a Guest Researcher in the Cardiology Branch of the NHLBI. He joined the MGH cardiology faculty in 1986 and transitioned to Brigham and Women’s Hospital in 1995, where he has remained. Dr. O'Gara has served in several leadership roles for the American College of Cardiology (ACC) and American Heart Association (AHA) including as ACC President in 2014-15, Chair of the AHA/ACC Joint Committee on Clinical Practice Guidelines 2019-2021, and Chair of the AHA Council on Clinical Cardiology 2003-2005.

He received the Council on Clinical Cardiology’s Distinguished Achievement Award in 2009, Laennec Master Clinician Award in 2011 and the Laennec Clinician Educator Award in 2012. He is Editor-in-Chief of the ACC Self-Assessment Programs and past Director of the ACC Board Course. He has participated as writing committee chair or member for several practice guidelines and expert consensus documents. O’Gara is Deputy Editor for JAMA Cardiology and a member of the Editorial Boards of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology and Circulation. He is senior investigator and Chair of the Publications Committee for the NHLBI Cardiothoracic Surgery Trial Network and a member of the Heart Valve Collaboratory Executive Committee.