James B. Herrick Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cardiology

Sponsored by the Council on Clinical Cardiology

To qualify for this Scientific Sessions 2024 award, you must meet the following deadlines:

  • May 31, 2024 – Deadline to have an active AHA membership with the sponsoring Council.
  • June 10, 2024, 6 p.m. CT – Deadline to apply for Scientific Sessions 2024 awards in the Council Awards System.

The James B. Herrick Award is presented by the American Heart Association's Council on Clinical Cardiology. This award honors a physician whose scientific achievements have contributed profoundly to the advancement and practice of clinical cardiology.

The Herrick Award, consisting of a medallion, is conferred annually during the Council on Clinical Cardiology Annual Dinner and Business Meeting during the Scientific Sessions of the American Heart Association.

In establishing the James B. Herrick Award, the Council on Clinical Cardiology pays homage to a great clinician, as well as to those who have emulated him in advancing the field of cardiology.

Dr. Herrick (1861-1954) was a pioneer among cardiologists. His contributions were many, but perhaps most significant was his classic paper on “Clinical Features of Sudden Obstruction of the Coronary Arteries,” published in 1912. Besides giving the medical world a definitive description of coronary thrombosis, his studies emphasized the important observation that sudden obstruction of a coronary artery is not necessarily fatal.

Dr. Herrick lived to see his investigations confirmed and acclaimed. His life was rich with honors. He served as president of the American Heart Association in 1927-28, and received its Gold Heart Award in 1951.

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Patrick T. O'Gara, MD, MACC, FAHA, FESC
  • 2022 Pamela S. Douglas, MD, FAHA
  • 2021 Alice K. Jacobs, MD, FAHA
  • 2020 Clyde W, Yancy, MD, MSc, FAHA
  • 2019 Keith Copelin Ferdinand, MD, FAHA
  • 2018 Judith S. Hochman, MD, FAHA
  • 2017 Arthur J. Moss, MD
  • 2016 Sidney C. Smith Jr., MD, FAHA
  • 2015 Sajiv Kaul, MBBS, FAHA
  • 2014 Kanu Chatterjee, MB, FRCP (Lond), FRCP ( Edin), FACC, FCCP, MACP
  • 2013 Marc Pfeffer, MD, PhD
  • 2012 Bernard Gersh, MB, ChB, D Phil
  • 2011 Nanette Wenger, MD
  • 2010 Elliott M. Antman, MD
  • 2009 Robert Bonow, MD
  • 2008 Prediman Krishan (P.K.) Shah, MD
  • 2007 David Holmes, Jr., MD
  • 2006 Patrick Serruys, MD
  • 2005 Bertram Pitt, MD
  • 2004 Myron L. Weisfeldt, MD
  • 2003 Jay N. Cohn, MD
  • 2002 Robert L. Frye, MD
  • 2001 Valentin Fuster, MD
  • 2000 George A. Beller, MD
  • 1999 Thomas N. James, MD
  • 1998 Henrick J. J. Wellens, MD
  • 1997 Douglas P. Zipes, MD
  • 1996 Thomas J. Ryan, MD
  • 1995 Richard Gorlin, MD
  • 1994 Robert C. Schlant, MD
  • 1993 James T. Willerson, MD
  • 1992 Burton E. Sobel, MD
  • 1991 Thomas W. Smith, MD
  • 1990 John Ross, MD
  • 1989 Shahbudin H. Rahimtoola, MD
  • 1988 Elliot Rapaport, MD
  • 1987 Harold T. Dodge, MD
  • 1986 Robert A. O’Rourke, MD
  • 1985 H.J.C. Swan, MD, PhD
  • 1984 T. Joseph Reeves, MD
  • 1983 Charles Fisch, MD
  • 1982 Richard S. Ross, MD
  • 1981 Eugene Braunwald, MD
  • 1980 J. Willis Hurst, MD
  • 1979 Paul N. Yu, MD
  • 1978 W. Proctor Harvey, MD
  • 1977 George E. Burch, MD
  • 1976 James V. Warren, MD
  • 1975 Lewis Dexter, MD
  • 1974 Helen B. Taussig, MD
  • 1973 Paul Dudley White, MD
  • 1972 Howard Burchell, MD
  • 1971 Tinsley R. Harrison, MD
  • 1970 Eugene A. Stead, Jr., MD
  • 1969 Franklin D. Johnston, MD
  • 1968 Hermann Blumgart, MD

Eligibility Criteria

Any living physician, regardless of specialty, may be nominated. The award is based on the recipient’s contributions to one or more of the following broad areas:

  • Advancement of scientific knowledge, either basic or clinical research, that relates directly to clinical cardiology
  • Teaching of cardiology at undergraduate, graduate or postgraduate levels
  • Improvement in the practice of cardiology
  • Service to the mission of the American Heart Association


The Nominating Committee of the council will review nominations submitted by council fellows and make the final recommendation of the recipient.

How to Apply or Make a Nomination

Please see the individual award information pages below for specific documents required when submitting an application or nomination file. Awards requiring an abstract must be submitted to an AHA Scientific Meeting before the online submission site abstract deadline. Your abstract control number will be needed on the award application form.

Each nomination should contain the following documents in PDF format:

  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • A letter of nomination, drafted on electronic letterhead with a signature. The letter should outline and provide clear examples of how the candidate meets the criteria.
  • A primary letter of recommendation from a colleague who can evaluate the candidate's research contributions. The letter must address each of the major award evaluation criteria and indicate what distinguishes the candidate in each criterion.
  • Up to 2 additional letters of support.



The Herrick Award honoree will be recognized at the AHA Scientific Sessions at the Annual Dinner of the Council on Clinical Cardiology. The honoree will be invited to present a state-of-the-art lecture at the dinner and will also receive the following:

  • Commemorative medallion
  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Round-trip coach airfare
  • Reimbursement for hotel accommodations for one night, all ground transportation, and subsistence on the day of the award presentation
  • Recognition in the Scientific Sessions supplement to the October issue of Circulation, and the Scientific Councils' newsletter Connections


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois