Council on the Kidney in Cardiovascular Disease Distinguished Achievement Award

The scientific councils’ Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the affairs of a scientific council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching and/or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

The honoree must be a member of the Council on Kidney in Cardiovascular Disease (KCVD).

The KCVD Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the HTN|KCVD joint Awards Dinner at the American Heart Association's Hypertension Scientific Sessions.

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the KCVD Leadership Committee by email.

Award Recipients

2017 David Ellison, MD, FAHA
2014 Jeff Sands, MD
2011 Frank C. Brosius, III, MD, FAHA
2008 L. Lee Hamm, MD, FACP, FAHA
2005 Thomas DuBose, Jr., MD, FAHA
2002 Jules B. Puschett, MD
1999 L. Gabriel Navar, PhD
1996 William E. Mitch, MD
1993 Diana Marver, MD
1990 Darrell D. Fanestil, MD
1987 Jared Grantham, MD
1984 Roy Maffly, MD

American Heart Association Professional Partners

Enjoy instant benefits!

  • Free Online Access to AHA Scientific Journals
  • Affiliate with our 16 Scientific Councils
  • Discounts on Scientific Conference Registration and Online Courses