Council Named Lecturers

Council Named Lectures feature presentations from some of today’s foremost clinicians and researchers as well as those with a lifetime of contributions to the field of cardiovascular disease and stroke. The lecture is often named in honor of a pioneer and leader in the field related to one of the AHA’s 16 scientific councils.

These lectures are presented at the AHA’s Scientific Sessions and Specialty Meetings. Honorees are selected by the council leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.

2022 AHA Council Named Lecturers

Ancel Keys Memorial Lecturer

Donna K Arnett PhD, MPH, FAHA

Donna K. Arnett, PhD, MPH, FAHA
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC

Charles T. Dotter Memorial Lecturer

Karen G. Ordovas MD, FAHA

Karen G. Ordovas, MD, FAHA, FNASCI, FSCMR
University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Lecturer

Clifton W Callaway MD, PhD
Clifton W. Callaway, MD, PhD, FAHA
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

George E. Brown Memorial Lecturer

Sumanth Prabhu, MD, FAHA
Sumanth D. Prabhu, MD, FAHA
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO

George Lyman Duff Memorial Lecturer

Alan Daugherty, PhD, DSc, FAHA

Alan Daugherty, PhD, DSc, FAHA
University of Kentucky

GPM/EPI Mid-Career Research Award Lecturer

Kathryn M. Rexrode, MD, MPH
Kathryn M. Rexrode, MD, MPH, FAHA
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA

James B. Herrick Award Lecturer

Pamela S. Douglas, MD, FAHA
Pamela S. Douglas, MD, FAHA
Duke University
Durham, NC

Katharine A. Lembright Award Lecturer

Lorraine S. Evangelista. PhD.
Lorraine S. Evangelista, PhD., RN, CNS, WAN, FAHA, FAAN
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV

Kathleen A. Dracup Lecturer

Bunny J. Pozehl, PhD
Bunny J. Pozehl, PhD, APRN-NP, FAHA, FHFSA, FAAN
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska

Kenneth D. Bloch Memorial Lecture in Vascular Biology Lecturer

Rhian M. Touyz, PhD
Rhian M. Touyz, MBBCh, MSC(Med), PhD, FAHA, FMedSci
Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre
Montréal, Quebec

Laennec/Clinician Educator Lecturer

Jon A. Kobashigawa, MD

Jon A. Kobashigawa, MD, FAHA
Cedars Sinai Heart Institute
Los Angeles, CA

Robert I. Levy Memorial Lecturer

William Virgil Brown, MD
William Virgil Brown, MD
Emory University
Atlanta, GA

Russell Ross Memorial Lectureship in Vascular Biology Lecturer

William C. Sessa, PhD
William C. Sessa, PhD, FAHA
Yale University School Medicine
New Haven, CT

Sol Sherry Distinguished Lecture in Thrombosis Lecturer

Marvin Nieman, PhD
Marvin Nieman, PhD, FAHA
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH

Stroke Council Award Lecturer

Nestor R Gonzalez MD MSc FAHA
Nestor R. Gonzalez, MD, MSc, FAHA
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA

T. Duckett Jones Memorial Lecture

Liesl Zuhlke MB ChB DCH
Liesl Zühlke, MB ChB, DCH, FCPaeds, Cert Card, MPH, MSc, PhD
Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital
Capetown, South Africa

Thomas Smith Memorial Lecturer

Leslie A. Leinwand, PhD, FAHA
Leslie Leinwand, PhD, FAHA
University of Colorado, Boulder
Boulder, CO

William B. Kannel, MD Memorial Lectureship in Preventive Cardiology Lecturer

Dan Roden, MD, FAHA

Dan Roden, MD, FAHA
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

William J Rashkind Memorial Lecturer

Dayna Bowen Matthew JD PhD
Dayna Bowen Matthew, JD, PhD
The George Washington University Law School
Washington, DC

William W. L. Glenn Lecturer

Bartley P Griffith MD William Glenn Lecture
Bartley P. Griffith, MD
Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore MD

Scientific Sessions 2023

Pre-Sessions Symposia & Early Career Day: November 10, 2023
Scientific Sessions: November 11–13, 2023
Pennsylvania Convention Center | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania