AHA's Second Century of Science Awards

As the American Heart Association approaches its 100-year anniversary, the importance of bringing novel approaches to address critical gaps in the health and well-being of all cannot be overstated. In recognition of this pending anniversary and the need to foster solutions in these areas, AHA’s Board of Directors allocated additional special research funding in 2023 to support three innovative research initiatives to address these gaps

$20 million awarded to lead next century of heart disease and stroke scientific research

Implementation Science Award

This program is supporting 19 early- and mid-career investigators proposing innovative implementation science studies that align with AHA’s mission and provide optimal approaches to improving public health.

Implementation research is scientific inquiry into questions concerning implementation – the act of carrying an intention into effect, which in health research can be policies, programs, or individual practices (collectively called interventions).

Early Faculty Independence Award

AHA’s Second Century Early Faculty Independence Awards support highly promising investigators in the early years of their first professional appointment as they address one of several possible areas of critical, emerging priority. Priority thematic areas of research focus include:

- Technology-driven health care and diagnostics
- Novel and emerging therapeutics
- Environmental impacts on health
- Research and solutions for issues affecting aging populations and the shrinking healthcare workforce

Clinical Fellow Research Education Program

The American Heart Association recognizes the need to foster research, research-related opportunities, and ongoing optimal implementation of practice guidelines for clinical fellows. This program will provide funding for cardiology and select neurology fellows to attend AHA's Scientific Sessions or International Stroke Conference and gain other training and experience integral to development of research acumen. Funds were awarded to 59 program directors to support up to five clinical fellows each year for a three-year period.