2023 Distinguished Scientist Judith S. Hochman, MD, MA, FAHA, FACC

Judith Hochman Headshot

Judith S. Hochman, MD, MA, FAHA, FACC
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Sciences
Founding Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute
NYU Grossman School of Medicine/NYU Langone Health

Judith Hochman, MD, is Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Sciences, founding Co-Director of the NYU Clinical and Translational Science Institute, Harold Snyder Family Professor and Associate Director, Division of Cardiology, and Director, Cardiovascular Clinical Research Center at NYU Langone Health/NYU Grossman School of Medicine. Dr. Hochman received her MA in cellular and developmental biology from Harvard and her MD from Harvard Medical School. She was a coronary care unit director for 20 years and developed an experimental model that demonstrated reduced adverse global left ventricular remodeling by late reperfusion post myocardial infarction. She developed and led, as Study Chair, NHLBI-funded international trials testing the role of revascularization for patients with ischemic heart disease, from cardiogenic shock to stable coronary disease: SHOCK, OAT, ISCHEMIA. These trials led to new/revised recommendations regarding the role of revascularization in Practice Guidelines. She was the first to test a pharmacologic agent in a randomized controlled trial in cardiogenic shock and was among the first to study sex differences in acute coronary syndrome and to design and launch randomized trials in COVID-19.

Dr. Hochman has served on the NHLBI Board of External Experts, American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines, the AHA Strategic Advisory Coordinating Committee and the FDA Cardiovascular and Renal Drugs Advisory Committee. She was the inaugural director of the AHA-funded Soter Center for Women’s Cardiovascular Research, where she led a team of investigators conducting synergistic basic, clinical and population science projects. She has authored over 400 publications and served on many Editorial Boards. She is the recipient of the 2008 AHA Women in Cardiology Mentoring Award, 2014 AHA Clinical Research Prize, ACC 2016 Distinguished Scientist Award (Clinical Domain), AHA 2018 CLCD James B. Herrick Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cardiology and 2023 Distinguished Achievement Award and was the European Society of Cardiology 2020 Rene Laennec Lecturer.