Irvine Page and Alva Bradley Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by the Council on Hypertension

To qualify for this award, you must meet the following deadlines:

The Lifetime Achievement Award is named in honor of Dr. Irvine Page and Alva Bradley, who played a prominent role in establishing the National Foundation for High Blood Pressure Research in 1945. The foundation became the Council for High Blood Pressure Research for the American Heart Association in 1949. The council's name changed to Council on Hypertension in 2015.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Must be a member of the AHA Council on Hypertension at the time nomination is submitted. Join or renew today!
  • The Page-Bradley Lifetime Achievement Award is presented each year to an individual who has had a lifetime of outstanding achievements in the field of hypertension and has served as a role model through service, research and teaching. In general, the recipient of this award must have had a career spanning at least 25 years.
  • A candidate may be nominated an unlimited number of times by different individuals in the same year. The Awards Committee will assess the candidates' overall scientific, teaching and service contributions to the field of hypertension and to the Council on Hypertension.
  • There are no citizenship requirements.
  • Previous winners are not eligible for nomination.
  • Past recipients of the Excellence in Hypertension Research Award (including previous names for the award) are not eligible to apply for other Council on Hypertension awards.
  • Each recipient of AHA council-sponsored awards, regardless of award category, is eligible to receive only one council-sponsored award each year per AHA scientific meeting.

How to Make a Nomination/Required Documents

Electronic submission of a nomination through the Council Awards Application System is required. Hard copies of any part of the nomination cannot be accepted. A username and password previously set up through online profile registration at Professional Heart Daily will be necessary to access the Application System. If you have not created an online profile yet, please visit Professional Heart Daily to create an online member profile before accessing the Council Awards Application System. AHA Professional Members who are creating an online profile for the first time should make sure to register using their AHA membership identification numbers.

The nomination file (submitted on the nominee’s behalf) should contain the following documents in PDF format and must be submitted through the Council Awards Application System for consideration for this award:

  • Nominee's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • A signed letter of nomination and two additional supporting letters from individuals who are familiar with the nominee's contribution to the field of hypertension and service to the council.


The award will be presented at the Hypertension Scientific Sessions.

The winner will receive complimentary registration, a $1,000 honorarium, two (2) tickets to the Hypertension Scientific Sessions Awards Banquet, and an award plaque.

Honorees must attend Hypertension Scientific Sessions in-person to be eligible for a travel reimbursement of up to $1,000.

  • Round-trip basic economy/coach airfare at the 21-day advance purchase rate, round-trip economy coach train fare, or reimbursement for gas at the rate allowed by the IRS for charitable organizations if the awardee drives.
  • Hotel accommodation for one night at the conference rate.
  • Ground transportation expenses to attend the conference (luxury transport is not a reimbursable expense.)
    • To and from the awardee’s home airport to the conference hotel
    • To and from the conference hotel to the airport
  • Up to $70 in meal reimbursement (alcohol excluded).

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Not awarded
  • 2022 Alicia McDonough, PhD, FAHA
  • 2021 Italo Biaggioni, MD, FAHA
  • 2020 Anil K. Bidani, MD, FAHA
  • 2019 George L. Bakris, MD, MA, FAHA, FASN
  • 2018 William C. Cushman, MD, FAHA
  • 2017 Gregory D. Fink, PhD, FAHA
  • 2016 David Robertson MD, FAHA
  • 2014 Brian J. Morris, DSc, PhD, FAHA Christine Baylis, PhD
  • 2013 Clinton Webb, BS, MS, PhD
  • 2012 James Sowers, MD
  • 2011 Hiroko Nishimura, MD, DMSc
  • 2010 Theodore Goodfriend, MD
  • 2009 Leopoldo Raij, MD
  • 2008 K. Bridget Brosnihan, PhD
  • 2007 Ernesto L. Schiffrin, MD, PhD
  • 2006 Christopher Wilcox, MD, PhD
  • 2005 Alberto Nasjletti, MD
  • 2004 John C. McGiff, MD
  • 2003 Allyn L. Mark, MD
  • 2002 Suzanne Oparil, MD
  • 2001 Robert M. Carey, MD
  • 2000 Patrick J. Mulrow, MD
  • 1999 Myron H. Weinberger, MD
  • 1998 David H.P. Streeten, MD
  • 1997 Norman M. Kaplan, MD
  • 1996 Edward G. Biglieri, MD
  • 1995 William F. Ganong, MD
  • 1994 Stevo Julius, MD, ScD
  • 1993 Edward D. Frohlich, MD
  • 1992 Ray W. Gifford, Jr., MD
  • 1991 Harriet P. Dustan, MD
  • 1990 Aram V. Chobanian, MD


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Award winners pose for a photo during #Hypertension23 Scientific Sessions, held September 7-10, 2023, in Boston, Massachusetts.

Hypertension Scientific Sessions

September 5–8, 2024
Hilton Chicago | Chicago, Illinois