Thomas Smith Memorial Lecture

Sponsored by the Council on Basic Cardiovascular Science

This lecture was established in 1997 by the Council on Basic Science to honor Dr. Thomas W. Smith, a pioneer in the application of biochemical, cellular, and molecular approaches to investigative cardiac contractility.

Current members of the BCVS Leadership Committee and the BCVS Nominating Committee will not be eligible to apply for or be nominated for the award.

The Smith Memorial Lecture is presented annually at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions. Honorees are selected by the Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences (BCVS) leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.



Award Recipients

2023 Recipient
Joseph A. Hill, MD, PhD, FAHA
Past Recipients

2022 Leslie Leinwand, PhD, FAHA
“Translating the extreme biology of pythons to mammalian hearts”

2021 Christine E. Seidman, MD, FAHA
"Molecules, Mutations, and Mechanisms of Heart Failure"

2020 Ronglih Liao, PhD, FAHA
"Unfolding the Misfolded: Molecular Insights Underlying Cardiac Amyloidosis"

2019 Susan F. Steinberg, MD, FAHA
"The Cardiac Beta1-Adrenergic Receptor: N-Tertaining a New Signaling Paradigm"

2018 Joshua M. Hare, MD, FAHA
"Nitric Oxide Signaling and Cardiac Injury and Regeneration"

2017 Roger J. Hajjar, MD
"Gene Therapy & Genome Editing for Acquired & Inherited Cardiomyopathies"

2016 Yibin Wang, PhD, FAHA
"Amending The Broken Heart: Genes, Genomics And Beyond"

2015 Stefanie Dimmeler PhD, FAHA
"Regulatory RNAs in cardiovascular disease"

2014 Junichi Sadoshima MD, PhD
"Regulation of myocardial growth and death by the Hippo signaling pathway"

2013 Steven Houser, PhD, FAHA
"Calcium: Nodal Regulator of Contractility and Hypertrophy in Cardiac Myocytes"

2012 Peipei Ping, PhD, FAHA
"Dancing in the Heart of Organellar Proteomes"

2011 Gerald W. Dorn III, MD, FAHA
"Decoding the Cardiac Message"

2010 Paul Simpson, MD, FAHA
"Rethinking Cardiac Hypertrophy"

2009 Walter Koch, PhD, FAHA
"GRK2 Inhibition as a Novel Therapeutic Target in Heart Failure"

2008 Jeffrey Molkentin, PhD
"PKC? as a Novel Therapeutic Target for Treating Heart Failure"

2007 Douglas Losordo, MD, FAHA
"Biologic Tissue Repair: Tearing Pages out of Nature's Playbook"

2006 Silvia Priori, MD, PhD
"From a Girl to a Mouse: A Journey in the Rhythm of the Heart"

2005 Eduardo Marban, MD, PhD, FAHA
"Gene- and cell-based therapies for cardiac arrhythmias"

2004 Don Bers, PhD, FAHA
"Interplay of Calcium and Sodium Regulation in Cardiac Myocytes"

2003 Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD
"Seven Membrane-Spanning Receptors and Their Regulation"

2002 Andrew R. Marks, MD, FAHA
"A Guide for the Perplexed – Toward a Molecular Understanding of Heart Failure"

2001 Seigo Izumo, MD
"Heart Development and Congenital Heart Disease: From the Flies to Humans"

2000 Eric N. Olson, PhD
"Transcriptional Control of Cardiac Form and Function"

1999 Kurt G. Beam, PhD
"Cardiac excitation - contraction coupling: a hair-trigger for calcium release?"

1998 Eva J. Neer, MD
"Studies of Heterotrimeric G Proteins: Lessons from Modified Molecules and Modified Mice"

1997 Arthur Mu-En Lee, MD, PhD
"Vascular Smooth Muscle Differentiation"


The honoree will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the BCVS Council Dinner
  • An engraved plaque
  • A $1,000 honorarium and reimbursement for eligible travel expenses up to $1,000


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

A female doctor smiles into the camera as two male consulting in the background

Are you a FAHA?

Become a Fellow of the American Heart Association. Get details on eligibility, criteria, benefits and how to apply.