T. Duckett Jones Memorial Lecture

Sponsored by the Council on Lifelong Congenital Heart Disease and Heart Health in the Young

The T. Duckett Jones Memorial Award was set up by the San Francisco Heart Association following the death of Dr. Jones, with funds contributed by his friends and provided to the association's National Center to administer. In 1961, the executive committee of the Council on Rheumatic Fever and Congenital Heart Disease (now Young Hearts Council), established the T. Duckett Jones Memorial Lecture, to be given at the Annual Scientific Sessions. The first lecture was presented in 1962.

Current members of the Young Hearts Leadership Committee and the Young Hearts Nominating Committee are not eligible to be nominated for the award.

Award Recipients

Liesl Zühlke, MB ChB, DCH, FCPaeds, Cert Card, MPH, MSc, PhD
“Rheumatic Heart Disease: an exemplar for setting an agenda for children’s heart disease research globally”
Past Recipients

2019 Craig A. Sable, MD, FAHA

2016 Larry Baddour, MD, FAHA
"Management Of Infective Endocarditis Due To Staphylococcus Aureus"

2013 Jonathan Carapetis, MBBS, FRACP, FAFPHM, PhD
"The Three Eras of Rheumatic Fever"

2010 Lori J. West, MD, DPhil, FRCPC
"Advancing the Science of Transplantation: Lessons Learned from Children"

2007 Jeffrey Towbin, MD, FAHA
"Inflammatory Viral Heart Disease: A Shifting Epidemiology"

2004 Jane Newburger, MD, MPH, FAHA
"Kawasaki Disease: The Road Goes Ever On"

2001 Douglas L. Mann, MD
"Inflammatory Mediators in Health and Disease: The Yin Yang of Cardiac Innate Immune Responses"

1998 Welton M. Gersony, MD
"Management Decisions in Pediatric Cardiology: Searching for the Evidence"

1995 Walter R. Wilson, MD
"Enterococcal Endocarditis: From a Walk in the Park to Jurassic Park"

1992 Edward L. Kaplan, MD
"A Global Assessment of Rheumatic Fever and Rheumatic Heart Disease at the Close of the Century"

1989 Tomisaku Kawasaki, MD
"Cardiovascular Changes and Treatment in Kawasaki Disease"

1986 Floyd W. Denny, MD
"Rheumatic Fever in 1986"

1984 Leon Gordis, MD
"The Virtual Disappearance of Rheumatic Fever in the United States: Lessons in the Rise and Fall of Disease"

1982 Elia M. Ayoub, MD
"The Search for Host Determinants of Susceptibility to Rheumatic Fever: The Missing Link"

1980 Alvan R. Feinstein, MD
"The Jones Criteria and the Challenges of Clinimetrics"

1978 Richard M. Krause, MD
"The Influence of Infection on the Geography of Heart Disease"

1979 Taussig Sidney Blumenthal, MD
"Preventive Cardiology: A Pediatric Challenge"

1976 Robert G. Petersdorf, MD
"Experimental Endocarditis: What Have We Learned?"

1974 Angelo Taranta, MD
"Rheumatic Hypohaptogiobinemia Reconsidered"

1973 John D. Keith, MD
"Atherosclerosis in Early Life: Does the Problem Begin in Childhood?"

1972 Lewis W. Wannamaker, MD
"The Chain that Links the Heart to the Throat"

1971 T. Benedict F. Massell, MD
"Masking of Streptococcal Infections by Prophylactic Penicillin: Practical and Theoretical Implications"

1970 Gene Stollerman, MD
"Rheumatogenic and Nephritogenic Streptococci"

1969 Milton Markowitz, MD
"Eradication of Rheumatic Fever: An Unfulfilled Hope"

1968 [No award given]

1967 Charles A. Janeway, MD
"Unusual Responses to Infection"

1966 E.G.L. Bywater, FRCP
"Natural History of Rheumatic Fever and Its Modification"

1965 Rebecca C. Lancefield, PhD
"Association of Streptococci with Rheumatic Fever: A Review"

1964 Helen B. Taussig, MD
"Evolution of Our Knowledge of Congenital Heart Malformations"

1963 Maclyn McCarty, MD
"Missing Links in the Streptococcal Chain Leading to Rheumatic Fever"

1962 Paul Dudley White, MD
"Rheumatism - Then and Now"


The honoree will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the Young Hearts Council Dinner
  • An engraved plaque
  • A $1,000 honorarium and reimbursement for eligible travel expenses up to $1,000


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers