Katharine A. Lembright Award and Lecture

Sponsored by the Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing (CVSN)

To qualify for this Scientific Sessions 2024 award, you must meet the following deadlines:

  • May 31, 2024 – Deadline to have an active AHA membership with the sponsoring Council.
  • June 10, 2024, 6 p.m. CT – Deadline to apply for Scientific Sessions 2024 awards in the Council Awards System.

The Katharine A. Lembright Award and Lecture recognizes and encourages excellence in cardiovascular research by established nurse scientists. It honors Katharine A. Lembright, who as the American Heart Association's assistant director for nursing from 1960-81, played an important role in the development and growth of the Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing (CVSN).

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Nancy Schmieder Redeker, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
  • 2022 Lorraine S. Evangelista, PhD, RN, CNS, WAN, FAHA, FAAN
  • 2021 Anna Strömberg, PhD, RN, FAHA
  • 2020 Sabina M. De Geest, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, FESC , FEANS, FRCN
  • 2019 Terry A. Lennie, PhD, RN, FAHA
  • 2018 Cynthia M. Dougherty, PhD, ARNP, FAHA
  • 2017 Shirley M. Moore, PhD, RN, FAHA
  • 2016 Simon Stewart, PhD
  • 2015 Susan J. Pressler, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
  • 2014 Nancy Artinian, PhD, RN, FAHA, FPCNA, FAAN
  • 2013 Tiny Jaarsma, RN, PhD
  • 2012 Pamela Mitchell, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
  • 2011 Marjorie Funk, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
  • 2010 Lora Burke, PhD, RN, MPH, FAHA
  • 2009 Jean McSweeney, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
  • 2008 Mariann Piano, RN, PhD, FAAN, FAHA
  • 2007 Kathleen Grady, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
  • 2006 Debra Moser, PhD, DNSc, RN, FAHA
  • 2005 Barbara Riegel, DNSc, RN
  • 2004 Diane Becker, RN, ScD, MPH
  • 2003 Martha N. Hill, PhD, BSN, MSN
  • 2002 Joanne S. Harrell, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 2001 Barbara J. Drew, RN, PhD
  • 2000 Dorie Schwertz, PhD
  • 1999 Sandra B. Dunbar, RN, DSN, FAAN
  • 1998 Jerilyn K. Allen, RN, ScD
  • 1997 Laura Hayman, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 1996 Karyn Holm, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 1995 Susan L. Woods, PhD, RN
  • 1994 Marguerite Kinney, DNSc, RN, FAAN
  • 1993 Kathleen Dracup, DNSc, RN, FAAN
  • 1992 Carolyn L. Murdaugh, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 1991 Susan R. Gortner, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 1990 Elizabeth Hahn Winslow, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 1989 Erika S. Sivarajan Froelicher, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 1988 Linda J. Baumann, PhD, RN
  • 1987 Marie J. Cowan, PhD, RN, FAAN

Eligibility Criteria

  • The candidate must be a current AHA member and have maintained an active member status in the Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing (CVSN) for a minimum of five years.
  • The candidate must have an established track record in cardiovascular research (grants and publications).
  • The candidate must have been actively involved in the American Heart Association.
  • The candidate must be available to present a state-of-the-art lecture at the AHA Scientific Sessions.


Evaluation Criteria

  • Candidate has received national recognition of research (awards, national presentations, national research committees and study section).
  • Candidate has published articles in peer-reviewed journals.
  • Candidate has been involved in the AHA at the affiliate, local or national level within the last five years with a history of contributions to AHA goals and objectives. Involvement may be demonstrated by any of the following:
    • Council officer and/or committee member
    • News contributor
    • Board member
    • Events chairperson and/or volunteer
    • ACLS or PALS instructor
    • Speaker


How to Apply or Nominate a Colleague


Individuals may be nominated an unlimited number of times, but may receive this award only once. Self-nomination is acceptable.

Renominations are encouraged for those not selected; however, the nominator must be willing to update the nomination package in subsequent cycles.

The nomination file (submitted on the nominee’s behalf) should contain the following documents in PDF format:

  • Candidate's curriculum vitae.
  • A letter of nomination, drafted on electronic letterhead with a signature. The letter should outline and provide clear examples of how the candidate meets the criteria.
  • A primary letter of recommendation from a colleague who can evaluate the candidate's research contributions. The letter must address each of the major award evaluation criteria and indicate what distinguishes the candidate in each criterion.
  • Up to two optional additional letters of support from individuals familiar with the nominee's background or research may be submitted in the nomination file. All letters must be drafted on electronic letterhead with a signature, if possible.

Visit the Council Awards Application System to complete an application.

A username and password previously set up through online registration at Professional Heart Daily (PHD) will be necessary to access the Application System. AHA Professional Members who are creating an online profile for the first time should make sure to register using their AHA membership identification numbers.

An active AHA Professional Membership is required of all applicants for this award. If you are joining the AHA to apply, please wait for your AHA member number to arrive from AHA Member Services via e-mail before creating an online profile and starting your application file. We suggest that new members join the AHA no later than one week prior to the application submission deadline for the member ID number to be processed and delivered in time for the application deadline. The membership number will be required on the award application form.

  1. Click the link for the Council Awards Application System.
  2. Sign in with your Professional Heart Daily username and password.
  3. Follow the instructions to set up your profile in ProposalCentral. Setting up your ProposalCentral profile will only need to be done the first time you login to apply for an American Heart Association Council Awards.
  4. Once logged in, you may apply for the Scientific Sessions Lifetime Achievements and Lectures and select the Katharine A. Lembright Award and Lecture from the award drop down list.

For more detailed information on ProposalCentral, also included are additional materials on specific ProposalCentral functionality.



The winner will present a state-of-the-art lecture during Scientific Sessions and will be recognized at the Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing Council’s annual dinner at Scientific Sessions. The winner will also receive:

  • $2,000 honorarium
  • Engraved plaque
  • Round-trip coach airfare to the conference at the 21-day advance purchase rate
  • One-night hotel accommodations at the conference rate
  • Ground transportation expenses to attend the conference
  • Up to $70 in meal reimbursement
  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two complimentary council dinner tickets


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

A female doctor smiles into the camera as two male consulting in the background

Are you a FAHA?

Become a Fellow of the American Heart Association. Get details on eligibility, criteria, benefits and how to apply.