Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Lecture

Sponsored by the Council on Cardiopulmonary, Critical Care, Perioperative and Resuscitation

The Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Lecture was established in 1973 in honor of Dr. Richards, who shared the Nobel Prize with Drs. Andre Cournand and Werner Forssman in 1956 for work leading to a practical method of cardiac catheterization. Dr. Richards served as an associate editor of the AHA journal Circulation during the 1950s.

Honorees are selected by the Council on Cardiopulmonary, Critical Care, Perioperative and Resuscitation (3CPR) leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice. The Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Lecture will alternate between Scientific Sessions and the Resuscitation Science Symposium each year. On even years, the Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Lecture will be presented at the Resuscitation Science Symposium and on odd years the lecture will be presented at Scientific Sessions.

Current members of the 3CPR Leadership Committee and the 3CPR Nominating Committee are not eligible to apply for or be nominated for the award.

Award Recipients

2023 Recipient

Evangelos Michelakis, MD, FAHA, FACC

Past Recipients

2022 Clifton W. Callaway, MD, PhD, FAHA
“What happens after the hospital is part of resuscitation care”

2021 Mark Robert Nicolls, MD
"Immune Dysregulation and Inflammation in Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension"

2020 Kurt R. Stenmark, MD, FAHA
"Treatment of Pulmonary Hypertension: Insights, Accomplishments, and Challenges"

2019 Paul M. Hassoun, MD
"The Right Heart in Scleroderma-Associated PAH"

2018 Serpil R. Erzurum, MD
"Metabolic Mechanisms in Pulmonary Hypertension"

2017 Laurie Morrison, MD, MSc
"Advancing Resuscitation Science: A Combination of Courage, Compassion, Collaboration, Carpe Diem and a Little Grace"

2016 Norbert Voelkel, MD
"The Angiogenesis Paradox In Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension: Misguided In The Lung, Impaired In The Heart"

2015 Thomas Rea, MD, MPH
CPR Science: Discovery and Implementation

2014 Werner Seeger, MD
"Treatment of pulmonary hypertension – the past and the future"

2013 Paul Chan, MD, MSc
"Research Priorities for In-Hospital Cardiac Arrest: An Agenda for the Next Decade"

2012 Mark Gladwin, MD
"Haldane, Hot Dogs, & Halitosis: The Anion Nitrate as an Intrinsic Hypoxic Signaling Molecule and New Therapy For Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension"

2011 Petter Andreas Steen, MD, PhD, FERC
"Improving Cardiac Arrest Outcomes: Fine-tuning or Paradigm Shift?"

2010 S Stephen Archer, MD, FAHA
"The Role of Mitochondria in Pulmonary Hypertension-Warburg Redux"

2009 Karl Kern, MD, FAHA
"Improving Survival from Out-of-Hospital Cardiac Arrest"

2008 Asrar Malik, PhD
"Signaling Regulation of Endothelial Barrier Function in Health and Vascular Inflammation"

2007 Fritz Sterz, MD
"To cool or not to cool …?"

2006 Joe G.N. Garcia, MD, FAHA
"Wading in the Genomic Pool for Insights into Lung Pathobiology"

2005 Marlene Rabinovitch, MD, FAHA
"Biological Intervention to Reverse Pulmonary Hypertension"

2004 Kenneth Weir, MD, FAHA
"How the Body Senses Acute Changes in Oxygen"

2003 Lance B. Becker, MD
"Integrating the Three-Phase Time-Sensitive Model of Cardiac Arrest to Improve Resuscitation Outcomes"

2002 Ivan F. McMurtry, PhD
"ROK and RHO in Hypoxic Pulmonary Hypertension"

2001 Myron L. Weisfeldt, MD
"A Three Phase Temporal Model of Resuscitation Following Cardiac Arrest"

2000 Michael S. Wolin, PhD
"Design and Function of Vascular Oxidant Signaling Mechanisms"

1999 Janice Jones, PhD
"Biphasic Waveforms - Panacea for Out-of-Hospital Defibrillation?"

1998 Max Harry Weil, MD, PhD
"The Biomedicine of Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Post Resuscitation Management"

1997 Lewis J. Rubin, MD
"Primary Pulmonary Hypertension: Past, Present and Future"

1996 Homayoun Kazemi, MD
"Cardio-respiratory Interactions and Central Neurotransmitters"

1995 Una S. Ryan
"Endothelium: Friend and Foe"

1994 Charles A Hales, MD
"Heparin and Pulmonary Hypertension"

1993 John T. Reeves, MD
"The Perinatal Lung Circulation: A Matter of Life and Death"

1992 Peter Ward
"Determinants of Inflammatory Injury in the Lung"

1991 Norman C. Staub, MD
"The Cellular Biology of Pulmonary Edema"

1990 Lynne M. Reid, MD
"Control of the Pulmonary Circulation by Restrictive Vascular Remodeling: Oxygen -- Minus Plus"

1989 Gerard M. Turino, MD
"Matrix Mechanisms in Pulmonary Edema"

1988 Aubrey E. Taylor, PhD
"Is Oxygen Good for the Lung? Role of Oxygen Radicals in Pulmonary Edema"

1987 Karlman Wasserman, MD, PhD
"Assessing Cardiovascular Function by Gas Exchange"

1986 Albert L. Hyman, MD
"Neural Regulation of the Pulmonary Vascular Bed"

1985 Solbert Permutt, MD
"Mechanical Interaction of Respiration and Circulation"

1984 Robert F. Grover, MD, PhD
"The Politics of Pulmonary Circulation"

1983 Hermann Rahn, PhD
"New Concepts of Acid-Base Regulation at Normal Body Temperatures and During Hypothermia"

1982 John Butler, MD
"The Heart Is in Good Hands: Cardiopulmonary Interactions"

1981 Richard L. Riley, MD
"A Postscript to Circulation of the Blood: Men and Ideas"

1980 John B. West, MD
"Pulmonary Circulation and Gas Exchange"

1979 Alfred P. Fishman, MD
"Primary Pulmonary Hypertension"

1978 John T. Shepherd, MD
"The Lungs and Heart as Receptor Sites for Cardiovascular Regulation"

1977 Francois Abboud, MD
"Circulatory Adjustments to Hypoxia"

1976 Earl H. Wood, MD, PhD
"New Vistas for Studies of Structural and Functional Dynamics of the Heart, Lungs, and Circulation by Quantitative Imagery"

1975 Arthur C. Guyton, MD
"Basic Dynamics of Body Fluids with Special Reference to the Cardiopulmonary System"

1974 Theodore Cooper, MD
"The Changing Scene in Research and Medicine"

1973 Andre F. Cournand, MD
"Air and Blood - The History of a Unique Collaboration"


The winner of the Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Lecture will present a lecture on a topic of his or her choice. The presentation of this award lecture will alternate between ReSS (even years) and Scientific Sessions (odd years).

The honoree will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the 3CPR Council Reception
  • An engraved plaque
  • A $1,000 honorarium and reimbursement for eligible travel expenses up to $1,000


Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers