Ancel Keys Memorial Lecture

Sponsored by the Council on Epidemiology & Prevention

This lecture was established in 1990 by the Council on Epidemiology (now the Council on Epidemiology and Prevention) to honor Dr. Ancel Keys. A founding member of the council, Dr. Keys has had a long and distinguished scientific career in the study of cardiovascular diseases, their correlates, causes, and prevention in the United States and abroad.

Award Recipients

2023 Recipient
George Howard, DrPH, FAHA
Past Recipients

2022 Donna K. Arnett, PhD, MPH, FAHA
“Healthy Persons and Healthy Populations: Can Genomics Bridge the Gap?”

2021 David C. Goff, Jr., MD, PhD, FAHA
"Pursuing a Heart Healthy Planet"

2020 George A. Mensah, MD, FAHA
"Biomedical Research and the Proverbial Ounce of Prevention"

2019 Aaron R. Folsom MD, MPH, FAHA
"Epidemiology of Venous Thromboembolism and Opportunities for Primary Prevention through Healthy Lifestyle"

2018 Frank B. Hu, MD, PhD, MPH, FAHA
"Personalized Nutrition vs. Public Health Nutrition in Cardiometabolic Disease Prevention"

2017 Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, MD, PhD, MAS
"Prevention in the Era of Precision Medicine"

2016 Ana V. Diez Roux, MD, PhD, MPH
"Rediscovering The Role Of The Environment In Cardiovascular Health And Health Disparities: Implications For Research And Policy"

2015 Gregory L. Burke, MD, FACR, FSIR, FAHA
"Embracing Future Opportunities in Population Research"

2014 Joann E. Manson MD, MPH, DrPH, FAHA
"Controversies in Primary Prevention: Aspirin, Estrogen, and Vitamin D Supplementation"

2013 Michael Criqui, MD, MPH
"The Importance of Non-Coronary Atherosclerosis"

2012 George Howard, PhD
"Adventures (And Misadventures) on the Road to Understand (And Reduce) Disparities in Stroke Mortality"

2011 Barbara Howard, PhD, FAHA
"Determinants of Cardiovascular Disease in the 21st Century- -Insights from Two Diverse Populations"

2010 Philip Greenland, MD, FAHA
"Whither Cardiovascular Disease Risk Prediction"

2009 Bruce Psaty, MD, PhD, MPH, FAHA
"Drug Therapies for the Prevention of CVD Events: Trials and Errors"

2008 Michael Lauer, MD, FAHA
"Screening for Coronary Artery Disease: Is It Too Soon to Think Clinically?"

2007 Salim Yusuf, MBBS, DPhil, FRCP, FRCPC, FACC
"Towards a Global Solution for CVD--Can We Prevent the Majority of Premature CVD in the Next 25 Years?"

2006 Walter Willett, MD, DrPH
"Diet and Heart Disease: The Seven Countries and Beyond"

2005 Eric Boerwinkle, MD
"Genetics as a Bridge between the Basic and Clinical Sciences"

2004 Darwin Labarthe, MD, MPH, PhD, FAHA
"Epidemiologic Transitions: Variations on a Theme by Abdel Orman"

2003 Stephen B. Hulley, MD
"The Cardia Study: Greatest Hits (So Far)"

2002 Curt D. Furberg, MD, FAHA
"Translating Research into Practice"

2001 Russell Luepker, MD, FAHA
"The Challenge of out-of-Hospital Sudden Cardiac Death"

2000 Jack Farquhar, MD
"The Coming International Crisis in Cardiovascular Disease"

1999 Lewis H. Kuller, MD, DrPH
"Hormones, Women's Health, Cardiovascular Disease, Breast Cancer, Osteoporosis, and Dementia"

1998 Millicent Higgins, MD, PhD
"Epidemiology and Prevention of Heart Disease in Families"

1997 Ralph S. Paffenbarger, Jr.
"Physical Activity as Protection Against Cardiovascular and All-Caused Mortality"

1996 Herman Alfred Tyroler
"Cardiovascular Diseases, Race and Social Factors; Studies in the Southeastern U.S.,1960-1990"

1995 Elizabeth Barrett-Connor
"The Gender Gap in CV Disease: Methodologic Issues"

1994 William B. Kannel
"Clinical Misconceptions Dispelled by Epidemiologic Research"

1993 Frederick H. Epstein
"CV Disease Epidemiology - A Journey From the Past to the Future"

1992 Jeremiah Stamler
"Nutritional Research: Doing the Right Thing"

1991 Henry W. Blackburn
"Whence and Whiter"

1990 Geoffrey Rose
"Individuals and Populations in Preventive Cardiology"


The award will be presented at Scientific Sessions.

The honoree will also receive:

  • Honorarium of $1,000
  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the Council Dinner
  • Engraved plaque
  • Round-trip coach airfare to Scientific Sessions
  • Hotel reimbursement (room + tax) for one night at the conference rate
  • Ground transportation to and from the airport
  • Meal reimbursement up to $70


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois