Laennec Master Clinician Award

Sponsored by the Council on Clinical Cardiology

The Laennec Master Clinician Award provides special recognition of an individual's lifetime achievement in patient care and teaching in cardiology. The award recognizes a senior clinician with a lifetime of outstanding contributions to teaching and patient care in cardiovascular disease; exceptional insight in correlating the pathophysiology of cardiovascular disease with clinical findings at the bedside; national and international recognition of expertise in the signs, symptoms, and pathophysiology in an important area of cardiovascular disease; and national and international recognition in the application of diagnostic technology in patient care and teaching in cardiology.

The Council on Clinical Cardiology Laennec Post-Graduate Education Committee will select an honoree. The honoree will be honored at the Clinical Cardiology Dinner at Scientific Sessions in November.

Award Recipients

  • 2022 JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD, FAHA
  • 2021 Julia H. Indik, MD, PhD, FAHA
  • 2020 Ileana L. Piña, MD, MPH, FAHA
  • 2019 Thomas M. Bashore, MD, FAHA
  • 2018 Mark Drazner, MD, MSc, FAHA
  • 2017 C. A. Sivaram, MD, MBBS
  • 2016 Elyse Foster, MD, FAHA
  • 2015 Carol A. Warnes, MD
  • 2014 James (Jim) Chen-tson Fang, MD, FAHA
  • 2013 Ken Rosenfield, MD, MSc, FAHA
  • 2012 Eric Williams, MD
  • 2011 Patrick O’Gara, MD, FAHA
  • 2010 William C. Little, MD
  • 2009 Peter Yurchak, MD (posthumous)
  • 2008 Kenneth Baughman, MD
  • 2007 Gabriel Gregoratos, MD, FAHA
  • 2006 Sharon A. Hunt, MD
  • 2005 Frank Marcus, MD, FAHA
  • 2004 Celia Oakley, MD
  • 2003 Roman DeSanctis, MD
  • 2002 J. Ward Kennedy, MD
  • 2001 William W. Parmley, MD
  • 2000 HJC Swan, MD
  • 1999 Melvin D. Cheitlin, MD, FAHA
  • 1998 Michael S. Gordon, MD
  • 1997 J. Michael Criley, MD, FAHA
  • 1996 Ralph Shabetai, MD
  • 1995 J. Willis Hurst, MD
  • 1994 Nobel Fowler, MD


The award will be presented at Scientific Sessions.

The honoree will also receive:

  • $1,000 honorarium
  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions 
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the Clinical Cardiology Council Dinner 
  • An Engraved plaque
  • Round-trip coach airfare to Scientific Sessions
  • Hotel reimbursement (room + tax) for one night at the conference rate
  • Ground transportation to and from the airport 
  • Meal reimbursement up to $70 


black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers

Pre-Sessions Symposia & Early Career Day: November 10, 2023
Scientific Sessions: November 11–13, 2023

Pennsylvania Convention Center | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Your passion, our science, career-defining insights.