George Lyman Duff Memorial Lecture

Sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology

The George Lyman Duff Memorial Lecture, sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology (ATVB), was established in 1956 by the Society for the Study of Arteriosclerosis in memory of Dr. Duff, a founding member and past president of the society. Dr. Duff was one of Canada’s most distinguished pathologists and medical educators.

The Duff Lecture is one of three ATVB named lectures presented annually at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions. Honorees are selected by ATVB Council leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.

Award Recipients

Award Recipients
2019 Robert A. Hegele, MD, FAHA 1998 Peter Libby, MD 1977 Jeremiah Stamler, MD
2018 Ruth McPherson, MD, PhD 1997 Angelo Scanu, MD 1976 Donald S. Frederickson, MD
2017 Ira J. Goldberg, MD, FAHA 1996 Ana Jonas, PhD 1975 Christian de Duve, MD
2016 Stanley Leon Hazen, MD, PhD, FAHA 1995 Jan Breslow, MD 1974 Robert O. Scow, MD
2015 Michael Phillips PhD, Dsc, FAHA 1994 Alan M. Fogelman, MD 1973 Harriet P. Dustan, MD
2014 Helen Hobbs, MD 1993 John Dietschy, MD 1972 Marvin D. Siperstein, MD
2013 Edward Fisher, MD, PhD, FAHA 1992 David H. Blankenhorn, MD 1971 Theodore Cooper, MD
2012 Daniel J. Rader, MD 1991 Edwin L. Bierman, MD 1970 Louis N. Katz, MD
2011 Stephen G. Young, MD, FAHA 1990 Scott M. Grundy, MD 1969 Edward H. Ahrens, Jr., MD
2010 Ernst Schaefer, MD, FAHA 1989 William E. Conner, MD 1968 Irvine H. Page, MD
2009 Linda Curtiss, PhD, FAHA 1988 DeWitt S. Goodman, MD 1967 Ancel Keys, PhD
2008 Aldons J. Lusis, PhD 1987 Robert W. Mahley, MD, PhD 1966 Stuart Bondurant, MD
2007 Göran K. Hansson, MD, PhD 1986 Donald M. Smal, MD 1965 John W Gofman, MD
2006 Gustav Schonfeld, MD 1985 Thomas B. Clarkson, DVM 1964 Frank Mason Sones, Jr, MD
2005 Donald Heistad, MD 1984 Richard J. Havel, MD 1963 Oscar D. Ratnoff, MD
2004 Henry Ginsberg, MD 1983 Henry C. McGill, Jr., MD 1962 Eugene M. Landis, MD
2003 Godfrey S. Getz, MD, PhD 1982 Daniel Steinberg, MD, PhD 1961 Don W. Fawcett, MD
2002 Bryan Brewer, MD 1981 Michael S. Brown, MD 1960 Howard B. Sprague, MD
Silvia Santamarina-Fojo, MD, PhD Joseph L. Goldstein, MD 1959 Paul Dudley White, MD
2001 Joseph L. Witztum, PhD 1980 Russell Ross, PhD 1958 George E. Wakerlin, PhD, MD
2000 Roger A. Davis, PhD 1979 John A. Glomset, MD 1957 William Boyd, MD
1999 Alan R. Tall, MD 1978 Donald B. Zilversmit, PhD