Council on Lifelong Congenital Heart Disease and Heart Health in the Young Distinguished Achievement Award

The scientific councils’ Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the affairs of a scientific council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching and/or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

The honoree must be a member of the Council on Lifelong Congenital Heart Disease and Heart Health in the Young (Young Hearts).

The Young Hearts Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the Young Hearts Council Business Meeting and Awards Dinner at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions.

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the Young Hearts Leadership Committee by email.


Award Recipients

2018 G. Paul Matherne, MD, FAHA
2015 Michael Gewitz, MD, FAHA
2012 Stephen Daniels, MD, PhD, FAHA
2009 Gail Pearson, MD, ScD, FAHA
2006 Dianne Atkins, MD, FAHA
2003 Welton Gersony, MD
2000 Kathryn A. Taubert, PhD
1997 James H. Moller, MD
1994 Edward B. Clark, M.D.
1991 Ronald Lauer, MD
1988 Edward L. Kaplan, MD
1985 William H. Weidman
1981 Milton Markowitz, MD


Nov. 13–15, 2021
A Live Broadcast Event

Register today!

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers