David G. Sherman Lecture

The David G. Sherman Lecture recipient presents a lecture on stroke each year at the International Stroke Conference (ISC). The award recognizes lifetime contributions to the investigation, management, mentorship and community service in the stroke field. Specific criteria and information to assist you are below.


Nomination must be e-mailed no later than Wednesday, August 7, 2024.


The nominee must meet the following criteria to be considered for this award:

  • Current Fellow of the Stroke Council at the time of nomination
  • Candidate must be a senior investigator who has made outstanding contributions in the stroke field in their lifetime (basic or clinical)
  • Mentorship of students, residents, fellows and junior faculty are important
  • Community service to promote stroke prevention and acute stroke treatment will also be considered
  • Active in Stroke Council programs
  • Nominated by a Member of the Stroke Council
  • Previous recipients of the Feinberg or Willis Awards will be considered for the Sherman only in extreme circumstances when winning two awards in a career is clearly merited. Recipient cannot have won either the Feinberg Award or the Willis Award in the past seven years.

How to Nominate a Candidate / Required Documents

Nomination must be made by a Member of the Stroke Council. The nominator will personally inform their candidate that he/she has been nominated for this award and confirm their willingness to accept the award if selected. To nominate a candidate, please submit one copy of the following:

  • Full name and contact information of the candidate
  • Candidate’s curriculum vitae (CV) and bibliography
  • Letter (or letters from multiple supporters) detailing the complete description of the candidate’s qualifications and career highlights


  • Present a lecture during the International Stroke Conference 2025 based on their contributions to the field of stroke
  • Complimentary conference registration
  • Receive $2,000 honorarium plus nominal reimbursement for travel expenses to attend the conference
  • Framed certificate

Nomination materials must be sent via e-mail no later than Wednesday, August 7, 2024. Nominations and/or support letters arriving after this date cannot be considered and hard copies of the materials will not be accepted.

Send all materials in one e-mail to:
Ashley Savage at [email protected]