Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences Early Career Development

Meetings & Events

Stay current on all events that are related to BCVS early career!

Meet the Committee Members

Learn more about the members of the BCVS Early Career Committee.

Professional Opportunities

See opportunities for funding, growth, and development.


Connect with Us

Keep in touch with all things AHA through social media.


Mission Statement

The Early Career Committee of the BCVS Council has been established with the aim to:

  • Introduce trainees and early career individuals in the mission of the BCVS council and the AHA.
  • Foster the development of trainees and early career professionals in the field of basic cardiovascular science.
  • Facilitate information flow that pertains to scientific advancements and career opportunities
BCVS Early Career Committee


Early Career Programming at BCVS Scientific Sessions 2019

July 29–Aug. 1, 2019 | Boston, Mass.

View the full schedule of early career programming and activities during BCVS 2019.

2019 BCVS Early Career Mentorship Program

We are delighted to offer a program to Early Career Investigators that gives them the opportunity to intern/observe in an Established Investigator’s laboratory for a few days as a visiting scholar. We look forward to connecting you with a Mentor who has similar interests and experience as yours and who could help advance your career. Please read the program information carefully and answer all questions in the application form to be considered for review by the BCVS Early Career Committee. Learn more about this program

BCVS Early Career Reception

Tuesday, July 30, 7 p.m. | Westin Boston Waterfront Pavilion

The Early Career Reception is made possible a generous contribution from:

  • Emory University – Division of Cardiology
  • Evangelia Kranias, PhD FAHA
  • Joseph A. Hill, MD PhD FAHA
  • Leslie Leinwand, PhD FAHA; BioFrontiers Institute, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Loren Wold, PhD FAHA
  • Susmita Sahoo, PhD
  • Sean Wu, PhD
  • Stanford Amyloid Center

Temple University School of Medicine

San Diego State University Heart Institute

Temple University, Center for Translational Medicine

University of Colorado Boulder BioFrontiers Institute

Stanford Cardiovascular Institute


Mount Sinai Heart

Emory University School of Medicine Division of Cardiology

UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine

University of Colorado School of Medicine Anschutz Medical Campus Consortium for Fibrosis Research & Translation

2016 Winners

  • Katz Award: Yen-Sing Ang, PhD
  • Marcus Award: Danny El-Nachef, PhD

History of Finalists

Basic Cardiovascular Sciences

July 29–Aug. 1, 2019
Boston, Mass.

AHA/ASA Professional Membership

AHA / ASA Professional Members are Difference Makers.