Council on Cardiovascular Surgery and Anesthesia Distinguished Achievement Award

The CVSA Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the CVSA Council Awards Dinner at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions. The award recognizes Council on Cardiovascular Surgery and Anesthesia (CVSA) members who have made major contributions to the affairs of the CVSA Council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the CVSA Leadership Committee by email. Current members of the CVSA Leadership Committee and the CVSA Mentoring Committee are not eligible to apply for or be nominated for the award.


Award Recipients

2022 Jennifer S. Lawton, MD, FACS, FAHA
2019 Marc Ruel, MD, MPH, FAHA
2016 John Ikonomidis MD, PhD, FAHA
2013 Frank Sellke, MD, FACS
2010 Loren Hiratzka, MD, FAHA, FACC
2008 D. Craig Miller, MD
2004 Richard D. Weisel, MD, FAHA
2001 Donald B. Doty, MD
1998 Floyd Loop, MD
1995 Norman Shumway, MD, PhD
1992 Gerard Kaiser, MD
1989 James A. DeWeese, MD
1986 John W. Kirklin, MD
1983 David Sabiston, Jr., MD


The honoree will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the CVSA Council Dinner
  • An engraved plaque
  • Reimbursement for eligible travel expenses up to $1,000


Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers