Skip to main content
class com.aha.ucm.component.cis.TagListPageData=[,docNativeURL=null,docName=UCM_447905,docStatus=RELEASED,dOutDate=null,docSSFileName=UCM_447905_KCVD-Donald-Seldin-Lecture.jsp,docTitle=KCVD Donald Seldin Lecture,xWebsites=professional,dDocAuthor=alice.wolke,xNextReviewDate=05/18/2016 5:48 PM,xTier1=38,xFeaturedItem=No,xElectronicRegistration=No,UserLocale=null,xSubCategory=,dpEvent=null,xComments=The KCVD Donald Seldin Lecture was established in 2006 to enhance the awareness of AHA conference attendees concerning the rising epidemic of cardiovascular disease and mortality in patients with chronic kidney disease.,NoHttpHeaders=null,UserTimeZone=null,xRegionDefinition=GENERIC_RD_COL_1,xVideoRenditions=,xSnippetItem=,xNotes=autoconverted |,UserDateFormat=null,encodeDocUrl=null,isDocProfileDone=null,xKeywords=CC, KCVD Donald Seldin Lecture, KCVD Lecture, award, awards, sessions awards, sessions award, council award, council awards,xTier2=129,refreshSubMonikers=null,xEditorStepReassignedUsers=null,xLinkTextToDisplay=,dDocAccount=WCM/SOP/SMD,xEndDateTime=null,xClbraAliasList=null,ClientEncoding=null,xCpdIsLocked=0,xUsageRightsDate=null,xModifyDate=02/13/2019 11:21 PM,xTier3=409,xEventDate=null,dSubscriptionType=null,xCopyright=No,xPackagedConversions=,dSubscriptionAlias=null,xStorageRule=,dpName=null,xDepartment=Science Operations,dStatus=RELEASED,dPublishType=,xCopyrightDetails=,xSubType=64,isDocProfileUsed=null,xWebsiteObjectType=Data File,xWebFlag=,xSeeAlsoLinks=,xClbraUserList=null,xPartitionId=,xCpdIsTemplateEnabled=0,xLinkWebAddress=,xDontShowInListsForWebsites=,xStartDateTime=null,dInDate=02/13/2019 11:20 PM,xWebsiteSection=professional:1406,dDocName=UCM_447905,dpAction=null,dRevLabel=39,dSecurityGroup=AHAMAH-Public,xCategory=,refreshMonikers=null,xDamConversionType=,dDocFormats=null,xAssociatedImage=,dDocType=SingleColumn,xBusinessOwner=Business Owner,xUploadDate=null,xDiscussionCount=0,xMainFlowEntryCriteria=True,xItemInformation=,xUsageRights=,xDiscussionType=N/A,xRecipeTaxonomy=,dSubscriptionID=null,dOriginalName=UCM_447905.xml,xProfileTrigger=SingleColumn,dLocation=,dRevisionID=26,dPublishState=,dReleaseState=Y,xTrashDeleter=null,dMessage=,dWebExtension=xml,dExtension=xml,dProcessingState=Y,xTrashDeleteName=null,dIsCheckedOut=0,xForceFolderSecurity=null,dRevClassID=447905,dIsPrimary=1,dFileSize=10187,dIndexerState=,dFlag1=,xviaAddNewContentService=,dIsWebFormat=0,xCollectionID=null,dRevRank=0,xReadOnly=null,dCheckoutUser=,dFormat=Application/xml,dWorkflowState=,dDocID=1880543,dRendition2=,dRendition1=,xInhibitUpdate=null,dReleaseDate=02/13/2019 11:21 PM,xTrashDeleteLoc=null,dCreateDate=02/13/2019 11:21 PM,xHidden=null,labelTier1=MembershipCouncils,labelTier2=ScientificCouncils,labelTier3=,labelTier4=,mobileNavURL=DEFAULT2_VALUE_FROM_getDataForAdvanceSearch,xContactPhoneNumber=,xContactEmailAddress=,xContactName=,xATGRolesDisciplines=,xPublishDate=05/19/2015 5:00 AM,xRobotParameter=,xCommunities=,xMembershipLevel=,rsCalories=null,rsSodium=null,rsRecipeTaxonomy=null,rsServings=null,rsTotalTime=null,rsTotalFat=null,rsTotalCarbs=null,rsFeaturedImage=null,xDisplayComments=

KCVD Donald Seldin Lecture

Nominations for the Donald Seldin Lecture are being accepted February 13–May 8, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. (Central time)

This lecture was established in 2006 to enhance the awareness of AHA conference attendees concerning the rising epidemic of cardiovascular disease and mortality in patients with chronic kidney disease. The lecture allows experts in the field to bring the latest basic, translational or clinical information to the AHA meeting. The lecture is named in honor of Dr. Donald Seldin, a pioneer and leader in the field of cardiovascular disease relate to kidney failure. Dr. Seldin was responsible for the seminal observations related to sodium and potassium transport in the kidney and their effects on blood pressure and cardiovascular homeostasis.

The Seldin Lecture is presented annually at the AHA Hypertension Scientific Sessions by a distinguished honoree.

How to Make a Nomination/Required Documents

Electronic submission through the Council Awards Application System is required. Hard copies of any part of the nomination cannot be accepted.


The nomination file (submitted on the nominee’s behalf) should contain the following documents in PDF format:

  • Letter of nomination on behalf of the candidate that outlines why the candidate is worthy of recognition. This may include the candidate’s accomplishments in the field of cardiovascular disease as it relates to kidney failure, his or her volunteer activities with the AHA (affiliate and/or national level), teaching and mentoring activities, or a combination of these.
  • Curriculum vitae, including biography

Visit the Council Awards Application System to complete a nomination.

A username and password previously set up through online profile registration at Professional Heart Daily will be necessary to access the Application System. If you have not created an online profile, please visit Professional Heart Daily to create an online member profile before accessing the Council Awards Application System. AHA Professional Members who are creating an online profile for the first time should make sure to register using their AHA membership identification numbers.


The honoree will present a lecture at the Hypertension Scientific Sessions on a topic of his or her choice that will be of interest to the meeting attendees.

The honoree will also receive the following:

  • Complimentary registration to the Scientific Sessions
  • Round-trip coach airfare to the conference
  • One night's hotel stay at the conference
  • All ground transportation expenses to attend the conference and up to $60 in subsistence on the day of the lecture presentation
  • Presentation of an engraved plaque at the Awards Luncheon
  • $1000 honorarium


Current Awardee: 2018 Paul A. Welling, MD, FAHA

Past Awardees:

  • 2017 Donald E. Kohan, MD, PhD, FAHA
  • 2016 Jeff Garvin, PhD, FAHA
  • 2015  Moshe Levi, MD
  • 2014  Alicia A. McDonough, PhD
  • 2013  David Ellison, MD
  • 2012  Susan Quaggin, MD
  • 2011  Sharon Anderson, MD, FAHA
  • 2010  Thomas R. Kleyman, MD, FAHA
  • 2009  Roger Wiggins, MB, BChir
  • 2008  Mark Knepper, MD, PhD
  • 2007  Richard J. Johnson, MD, FACP
  • 2006  Richard P. Lifton, MD, PhD, FAHA