Council on Epidemiology and Prevention Distinguished Achievement Award

Award Application Window: April 15–June 19, 2020 at 8 p.m. (Central Time)

The scientific councils’ Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the affairs of the EPI Council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council. The latter could be:

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching and/or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

The honoree should be a present or past member of a scientific council of the American Heart Association.

The EPI Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the EPI|LCH Joint Council Awards Reception and Dinner at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions.

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award should be presented to the EPI Leadership Committee.


The following is a list of EPI Distinguished Achievement Award honorees

Past Recipients:

2017 David C. Goff, Jr., MD, PhD, FAHA
2014 Mary Cushman, MD, MSc
2011 Gregory L. Burke, MD, FAHA
2008 Michael Criqui, MD, MPH, FAHA,
2005 Russell Luepker, MD, FAHA
2002 Lewis Kuller, MD, FAHA
1999 Henry Blackburn, MD
1996 Elizabeth Barrett-Connor
1993 H. Alfred Tyroler, MD
1990 Thomas Dawber, MD
1987 Jeremiah Stamler, MD
1984 Oglesby Paul, MD


heart and torch background gray logo

Scientific Sessions 2020

Nov. 13-17, 2020
Join us for a Virtual Experience

black male doctor

American Heart Association Professional Partners

Renew or join as a professional partner today to make a difference.