Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing Distinguished Achievement Award

The scientific councils’ Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the affairs of a scientific council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching and/or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

The honoree must be a member of the Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing (CVSN).

The CVSN Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the CVSN Business Meeting and Awards Dinner at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions.

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the CVSN Leadership Committee by email.

Award Recipients

Award Recipients

2018 Susan Pressler, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
2015 Sandra B. Dunbar, PhD, FAHA
2012 Tamilyn Bakas, PhD, RN, FAHA
2009 Laura Hayman, PhD, RN, FAHA
2006 Gayle Whitman, PhD, RN, FAHA

2003 Barbara Fletcher, RN, FAHA
2000 Marie Cowan, PhD, RN
1997 Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN
1994 Susanna L. Cunningham, RN, PhD

1991 Jacquelyn Huebsch, RN
1988 Mildred Czar, RN
1985 M. Jeanne Pontious, RN
1982 Grace Brown, MA, RN


Scientific Sessions attendees looking at a phone in front of giant Heart and Torch stature

Scientific Sessions

Nov. 13–15, 2021
Boston, MA + Virtual

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers