Russell Ross Memorial Lectureship in Vascular Biology

Sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology

This lecture originated in 1982 and was designated as a vascular biology lecture in 1997 when the Arteriosclerosis Council, the Thrombosis Council and the Vascular Biology Working Group merged. In 1999 it was renamed to honor Dr. Russell Ross, who made notable contributions to the understanding of the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis and whose studies had a profound impact on atherosclerosis research and vascular biology.

The Ross Lecture is one of three ATVB named lectures presented annually at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions. Honorees are selected by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology (ATVB) leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.

Award Recipients

Award Recipients
2019 Coleen A. McNamara, MD, FAHA 2011 David Cheresh, PhD 2003 Bradford C. Berk, MD, PhD
2018 Joseph L. Witztum, MD, FAHA 2010 Jordan Pober, MD, PhD 2002 Shaun R. Coughlin, MD, PhD
2017 Karen Reue, PhD, FAHA 2009 Roy L. Silverstein, MD 2001 Peter Libby, MD
2016 Ira Tabas, MD, PhD 2008 Peter Newman, MD 2000 Michael A. Gimbrone, MD
2015 Klaus Ley, MD, FAHA 2007 Gary K. Owens, PhD 1999 Robert D. Rosenberg, MD, PhD
2014 Christopher K. Glass, BA, MD, PhD 2006 Mark Taubman, MD 1998 Russell Ross, PhD
2013 Karin Bornfeldt, PhD 2005 Elizabeth Nabel, MD
2012 Mukesh Jain, MD, FAHA 2004 Garret FitzGerald, MD
heart and torch background gray logo

Scientific Sessions 2020

Nov. 13-17, 2020
Join us for a Virtual Experience

black male doctor

American Heart Association Professional Partners

Renew or join as a professional partner today to make a difference.