Skip to main content
class com.aha.ucm.component.cis.TagListPageData=[,docNativeURL=null,docName=UCM_322727,docStatus=RELEASED,dOutDate=null,docSSFileName=UCM_322727_Arthur-C-Corcoran-Memorial-Lecture.jsp,docTitle=Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Lecture,xWebsites=professional,dDocAuthor=amy.stefanos,xNextReviewDate=02/04/2016 4:48 PM,xTier1=38,xFeaturedItem=No,xElectronicRegistration=No,UserLocale=null,xSubCategory=,dpEvent=null,xComments=Honoring Dr. Arthur Corcoran, this lecture is presented annually at AHA's Hypertension Scientific Sessions by an honoree from the field of hypertension,NoHttpHeaders=null,UserTimeZone=null,xRegionDefinition=GENERIC_RD_COL_1,xVideoRenditions=,xSnippetItem=,xNotes=autoconverted |,UserDateFormat=null,encodeDocUrl=null,isDocProfileDone=null,xKeywords=JH, HBPR Corcoran Lecture, Corcoran,xTier2=129,refreshSubMonikers=null,xEditorStepReassignedUsers=null,xLinkTextToDisplay=,dDocAccount=WCM/SOP/SMD,xEndDateTime=null,xClbraAliasList=null,ClientEncoding=null,xCpdIsLocked=0,xUsageRightsDate=null,xModifyDate=02/13/2020 2:42 PM,xTier3=409,xEventDate=null,dSubscriptionType=null,xCopyright=No,xPackagedConversions=,dSubscriptionAlias=null,xStorageRule=,dpName=null,xDepartment=Science Operations,dStatus=RELEASED,dPublishType=,xCopyrightDetails=,xSubType=64,isDocProfileUsed=null,xWebsiteObjectType=Data File,xWebFlag=,xSeeAlsoLinks=,xClbraUserList=null,xPartitionId=,xCpdIsTemplateEnabled=0,xLinkWebAddress=,xDontShowInListsForWebsites=,xStartDateTime=null,dInDate=02/13/2020 2:25 PM,xWebsiteSection=professional:1406,dDocName=UCM_322727,dpAction=null,dRevLabel=38,dSecurityGroup=AHAMAH-Public,xCategory=,refreshMonikers=null,xDamConversionType=,dDocFormats=null,xAssociatedImage=,dDocType=SingleColumn,xBusinessOwner=Business Owner,xUploadDate=null,xDiscussionCount=0,xMainFlowEntryCriteria=True,xItemInformation=,xUsageRights=,xDiscussionType=N/A,xRecipeTaxonomy=,dSubscriptionID=null,dOriginalName=UCM_322727.xml,xProfileTrigger=SingleColumn,dLocation=,dRevisionID=30,dPublishState=,dReleaseState=Y,xTrashDeleter=null,dMessage=,dWebExtension=xml,dExtension=xml,dProcessingState=Y,xTrashDeleteName=null,dIsCheckedOut=0,xForceFolderSecurity=null,dRevClassID=403438,dIsPrimary=1,dFileSize=10903,dIndexerState=,dFlag1=,xviaAddNewContentService=,dIsWebFormat=0,xCollectionID=null,dRevRank=0,xReadOnly=null,dCheckoutUser=,dFormat=Application/xml,dWorkflowState=,dDocID=1924393,dRendition2=,dRendition1=,xInhibitUpdate=null,dReleaseDate=02/13/2020 7:44 PM,xTrashDeleteLoc=null,dCreateDate=02/13/2020 2:42 PM,xHidden=null,labelTier1=MembershipCouncils,labelTier2=ScientificCouncils,labelTier3=,labelTier4=,mobileNavURL=DEFAULT2_VALUE_FROM_getDataForAdvanceSearch,xContactPhoneNumber=,xContactEmailAddress=,xContactName=,xATGRolesDisciplines=,xPublishDate=05/19/2015 5:00 AM,xRobotParameter=,xCommunities=,xMembershipLevel=,rsCalories=null,rsSodium=null,rsRecipeTaxonomy=null,rsServings=null,rsTotalTime=null,rsTotalFat=null,rsTotalCarbs=null,rsFeaturedImage=null,xDisplayComments=

Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Lecture

Sponsored by the Council on Hypertension
Nominations for the Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Lecture are being accepted February 19–May 15, 2020 at 6 p.m. (CT)

The Corcoran Lecture is presented annually at the AHA Hypertension Scientific Sessions by a distinguished honoree from the field of hypertension.

This honorary lecture was established in 1977 in honor of Arthur Curtis Corcoran. Dr. Corcoran’s major achievement was his early application of clearance methods in both hypertensive patients and animals.

Award Recipients

2019 Patrick J. Pagano, PhD, FAHA
2018 Virend K. Somers, MD, PhD, FAHA
2017 Tomasz J. Guzik, MD, PhD
2016 Karen Griffin, MD, FAHA
2015 S. Ananth Karumanchi, MD
2014 Sadayoshi Ito, MD, PhD
2013 Mohan Raizada, BSC, MSc, PhD
2012 Robin Davisson, PhD, FAHA
2011 Jan Danser, PhD
2010 Timothy L. Reudelhuber, PhD
2009 Toshiro Fujita, MD
2008 Gregory Fink, PhD
2007 Curt D. Sigmund, PhD
2006 Thomas M. Coffman, MD
2005 Carlos Ferrario, MD
2004 Anna F. Dominczak, MD
2003 Willa A. Hsueh, MD
2002 Gordon Williams, MD
2001 L. Gabriel Navar, PhD
2000 Friedrich Luft, MD
1999 Norman K. Hollenberg, MD
1998 Suzanne Oparil, MD
1997 Alberto Nasjletti, MD
1996 Edward D. Frohlich, MD
1995 Masashi Yanagisawa, MD PhD
1994 Salvador Moncada, MD PhD
1993 Haralambos Gavras, MD
1992 Stevo Julius, MD
1991 Detlev Ganten, MD
1990 Hugh E. deWardener, MD
1989 Aram V. Chobanian, MD
1988 Harriet P. Dustan, MD
1987 Edgar Haber, MD
1986 Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD
1985 Robert C. Tarazi, MD
1984 Wai Yiu Cheung, PhD
1983 Michael S. Brown, MD
1983 Joseph L. Goldstein, MD
1982 Pierre L. Corvol, MD
1981 Bengt Samuelsson, MD
1980 Frederic Bartter, MD
1979 E. Eric Muirhead, MD
1978 J. Ian S. Robertson, MD
1977 Börje Johansson

How to Make a Nomination/Required Documents

Electronic submission through the Council Awards Application System is required. Hard copies of any part of the nomination cannot be accepted.

The nomination file (submitted on the nominee’s behalf) should contain the following documents in PDF format:

  • Letter of nomination on behalf of the candidate that outlines why the candidate is worthy of recognition. This may include the candidate's accomplishments in the field of hypertension, his or her volunteer activities with the AHA (affiliate and/or national level), teaching and mentoring activities, or a combination of these.
  • Curriculum vitae, including bibliography

Visit the Council Awards Application System to complete a nomination.

A username and password previously set up through online profile registration at Professional Heart Daily will be necessary to access the Application System. If you have not created an online profile yet, please visit Professional Heart Daily to create an online member profile before accessing the Council Awards Application System. AHA Professional Members who are creating an online profile for the first time should make sure to register using their AHA membership identification numbers.


The honoree will present a lecture during the Hypertension Scientific Sessions and will be honored at the Award Luncheon.

The honoree will also receive:

  • Complimentary registration to the Hypertension Scientific Sessions
    * $2,000 Honorarium
    * Engraved plaque
  • Round-trip coach airfare to the conference at the 21-day advance purchase rate
  • One-night hotel accommodations at the conference rate
  • Ground transportation expenses to attend the conference
    * Up to $70 in meal reimbursement
    * Two tickets to the Annual Hypertension Scientific Sessions Awards Banquet