Council on Cardiovascular Radiology and Intervention Distinguished Achievement Award

The CVRI Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the CVRI Council Dinner at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions. The award recognizes Council on Cardiovascular Radiology and Intervention (CVRI) members who have made major contributions to the affairs of the CVRI Council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the CVRI Leadership Committee by email. Current members of the CVRI Leadership Committee and the CVRI Nominating Committee are not eligible to be nominated for the award.

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Vincent B. Ho, MD, MBA, FAHA
    2020 Barry T. Katzen, MD, FAHA
  • 2017 Pamela Woodard, MD, FAHA
  • 2014 Arthur E. Stillman, MD, PhD
  • 2011 Antoinette Gomes, MD, FAHA
  • 2008 Barry Katzen
  • 2005 Kurt Amplatz
  • 2002 Kurt Amplatz
  • 1999 Josef Rosch, MD
  • 1996 David C. Levin, MD
  • 1993 Lewis Wexler, MD
  • 1990 Charles Higgins, MD
  • 1987 Charles T. Dotter, MD
  • 1984 Melvin Judkins, MD


The honoree will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the Council Dinner
  • An engraved plaque
  • Reimbursement for eligible travel expenses up to $1,000


Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers