Sol Sherry Distinguished Lecture in Thrombosis

Sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology

The Sol Sherry Lectureship honors the founder of the original AHA Council on Thrombosis. During the 1960's, Dr. Sherry recognized that little attention was given to the study of thrombosis and that there was inadequate appreciation of its importance as a major health problem. Dr. Sherry led a task force of the National Academy of Science's National Research Council, which developed a plan to bring proper attention to this disorder, resulting in a national conference on thrombosis and a major book encompassing this field; the establishment of the International Society of Thrombosis and Haemostasis; the creation of Specialized Centers of Thrombosis Research by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; and the formation of the Council on Thrombosis.

The Sherry Lecture is one of three Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology (ATVB) named lectures presented annually at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions, slotted in a session devoted to thrombosis. Honorees are selected by ATVB Council leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.

Current members of the ATVB Leadership Committee and the ATVB Nominating Committee are not eligible to be nominated for the award.

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Joseph E. Italiano, Jr., PhD
  • 2022 Marvin Nieman, PhD, FAHA
  • 2021 Alisa S. Wolberg, PhD, FAHA
  • 2020 Gilbert C. White II, MD
  • 2019 Katherine A. High, MD
  • 2018 Steven Lentz, MD, PhD, FAHA
  • 2017 Jeffrey Weitz, MD, FAHA
  • 2016 John H. Griffin, PhD, FAHA
  • 2015 J. Evan Sadler
  • 2014 Sriram Krishnaswamy
  • 2013 James Morrissey
  • 2012 Dudley Strickland
  • 2011 Bruce Furie
  • 2010 Sanford Shattil
  • 2009 Nigel Mackman
  • 2008 Zaverio Ruggeri
  • 2007 Wolfram Ruf
  • 2006 Jay Degen
  • 2005 Edward Plow
  • 2004 Denisa Wagner
  • 2003 Yale Nemerson
  • 2002 David Ginsburg
  • 2001 Mark H. Ginsberg
  • 2000 Stephen M. Prescott
  • 1999 Philip W. Majerus
  • 1998 Lazlo Lorand
  • 1997 Shaun R. Coughlin
  • 1996 George J. Broze, Jr.
  • 1995 David R. Philips
  • 1994 Barry S. Coller
  • 1993 Jack Hirsh
  • 1992 Kenneth G. Mann
  • 1991 Thomas F. Deuel
  • 1990 Charles T. Esmon


The honoree will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions 
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the ATVB Council Luncheon 
  • An engraved plaque
  • A $1,000 honorarium and reimbursement for eligible travel expenses up to $1,000


Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers