Russell Ross Memorial Lectureship in Vascular Biology

Sponsored by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology

This lecture originated in 1982 and was designated as a vascular biology lecture in 1997 when the Arteriosclerosis Council, the Thrombosis Council and the Vascular Biology Working Group merged. In 1999 it was renamed to honor Dr. Russell Ross, who made notable contributions to the understanding of the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis and whose studies had a profound impact on atherosclerosis research and vascular biology.

The Ross Lecture is one of three ATVB named lectures presented annually at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions. Honorees are selected by the Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology (ATVB) leadership and are invited to present a lecture on a topic of their choice.

Award Recipients

  • 2023 Lars Maegdefessel, MD, PhD
  • 2022 William C. Sessa, PhD, FAHA – “Endothelial regulation of lipid transport and metabolism”
  • 2021 Denisa D. Wagner, PhD, FAHA
  • 2020 Michael E. Rosenfeld, PhD
  • 2019 Coleen A. McNamara, MD, FAHA
  • 2018 Joseph L. Witztum, MD, FAHA
  • 2017 Karen Reue, PhD, FAHA
  • 2016 Ira Tabas, MD, PhD
  • 2015 Klaus Ley, MD, FAHA
  • 2014 Christopher K. Glass, BA, MD, PhD
  • 2013 Karin Bornfeldt, PhD
  • 2012 Mukesh Jain, MD, FAHA
  • 2011 David Cheresh, PhD
  • 2010 Jordan Pober, MD, PhD
  • 2009 Roy L. Silverstein, MD
  • 2008 Peter Newman, MD
  • 2007 Gary K. Owens, PhD
  • 2006 Mark Taubman, MD
  • 2005 Elizabeth Nabel, MD
  • 2004 Garret FitzGerald, MD
  • 2003 Bradford C. Berk, MD, PhD
  • 2002 Shaun R. Coughlin, MD, PhD
  • 2001 Peter Libby, MD
  • 2000 Michael A. Gimbrone, MD
  • 1999 Robert D. Rosenberg, MD, PhD
  • 1998 Russell Ross, PhD


The award will be presented at Scientific Sessions.

The honoree will also receive:

  • Honorarium of $1,000
  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the Council Dinner 
  • Engraved plaque
  • Round-trip coach airfare to Scientific Sessions
  • Hotel reimbursement (room + tax) for one night at the conference rate
  • Ground transportation to and from the airport
  • Meal reimbursement up to $70


Scientific Sessions: November 16–18, 2024
McCormick Place Convention Center | Chicago, Illinois

black male doctor

AHA Professional Members are Difference Makers