Distinguished Scientists

The Distinguished Scientist designation honors American Heart Association professional members who have made extraordinary contributions to cardiovascular and stroke research.

The American Heart Association's Distinguished Scientists are a prominent group of scientists and clinicians whose work has importantly advanced our understanding of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. This award was created over 10 years ago to recognize AHA members for significant, original and sustained scientific contributions that have advanced the association's mission "Building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke." Recipients of this prestigious award are honored during the Presidential Session at AHA Scientific Sessions.

2023 AHA Distinguished Scientists Awardees

Patrick Ellinor, MD, PhD, FAHA

Patrick Ellinor Headshot

Acting Chief of Cardiology, Massachusetts General Hospital
Director, Cardiovascular Disease Initiative, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

Carlos M. Ferrario, MD, FAHA, FAPS, FACC

Carlos Ferrario Headshot

Professor Emeritus, Department of Surgery, Atrium Health Baptist Hospital,
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Winston Salem, NC

Judith S. Hochman, MD, MA, FAHA, FACC

Judith Hochman Headshot
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Sciences
Founding Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute
NYU Grossman School of Medicine/NYU Langone Health

Deepak Srivastava, MD, FAHA

Deepak Srivastava Headshot

President and Senior Investigator, Gladstone Institutes
Professor, University of California San Francisco


Jeffrey Weitz Headshot
Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences, McMaster University
Executive Director, Thrombosis and Atherosclerosis Research Institute

Cornelia M. Weyand, MD, PhD, FAHA

Cornelia Weyand Headshot

Professor of Medicine and Immunology, Mayo Clinic
Professor Emerita, Stanford University