Council on Cardiovascular Radiology and Intervention Distinguished Achievement Award

Award Application Window: April 15–June 19, 2020 at 8 p.m. (Central Time)

The scientific councils’ Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to a scientific council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching and/or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

The honoree must be a member of the Council on Cardiovascular Radiology and Intervention (CVRI).

The CVRI Distinguished Achievement Award is presented every three years during the CVRI Business Meeting and Awards Reception at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions.

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the CVRI Leadership Committee by email.


Award Recipients

2017 Pamela Woodard, MD, FAHA
2014 Arthur E. Stillman, MD, PhD
2011 Antoinette Gomes, MD, FAHA
2008 Barry Katzen
2005 Kurt Amplatz
2002 Kurt Amplatz
1999 Josef Rosch, MD
1996 David C. Levin, MD
1993 Lewis Wexler, MD
1990 Charles Higgins, MD
1987 Charles T. Dotter, MD
1984 Melvin Judkins, MD


heart and torch background gray logo

Scientific Sessions 2020

Nov. 13-17, 2020
Join us for a Virtual Experience

black male doctor

American Heart Association Professional Partners

Renew or join as a professional partner today to make a difference.