Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences Distinguished Achievement Award

The scientific councils’ Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the affairs of a scientific council over a continuing period, and who have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council.

  • Contributions to new knowledge in the field
  • Contributions to teaching and/or clinical care in the field
  • Professional leadership in national or international organizations

The honoree must be a member of the Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences (BCVS).

The BCVS Distinguished Achievement Award is presented annually during the BCVS Council Business Meeting and Awards Dinner at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions.

Suggested nominees for the Distinguished Achievement Award may be submitted to the BCVS Leadership Committee by email.

Award Recipients


2019 Ju Chen, PhD
2018 Josh M. Hare, MD, FAHA
2017 Junichi Sadoshima, MD, PhD
2016 Thomas Force MD, FAHA
2015 Mark Sussman, PhD, FAHA
2014 Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD
2013 Steven Houser, PhD, FAHA
2013 Roger Hajjar, MD
2012 Lawrence Rudel, Ph.D., FAHA

2011 Howard Rockman, MD
2010 Rong Tian, MD, PhD, FAHA
2009 Donald Bers, PhD, FAHA
2008 Daniel Kelly, MD, FAHA
2007 Michael Schneider, MD, FAHA
2006 Roberto Bolli, MD, FAHA
2005 Michael Rosen, MD, PhD, FAHA
2004 Eduardo Marban, MD, PhD, FAHA
2003 David Harrison, MD, FAHA

2002 Peter Spooner, PhD, FAHA
2001 Thomas H. Hintze, PhD
2000 Leslie Leinwand, PhD
1999 Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD
1997 William Barry, MD
1994 Harold C. Strauss, MD
1991 Arnold Katz, MD


black male doctor

American Heart Association Professional Partners

Renew or join as a professional partner today to make a difference.

blood pressure cuff

AHA Hypertension Scientific Sessions

This is a four-day scientific program for clinical and basic researchers focusing on recent advances in hypertension research.