Stroke Council Award and Lecture

Sponsored by the Stroke Council

The Stroke Council Award and Lecture recognizes and encourages those who actively work to integrate stroke and heart disease in clinical care, education or research. Individuals committed to promoting wider recognition of stroke in the cardiovascular community and of heart disease in the stroke community should be recognized for their unique efforts to promote the mission of the AHA.

The honoree will be acknowledged at Scientific Sessions in November and will present a special lecture.

Award Recipients

Award Recipients
2020 George Howard, DrPH, FAHA 2012 Scott Kasner, MD, PhD, FAHA
2019 Louise McCullough, MD, PhD, FAHA
2011 Debbie Summers, MSN, ACNS-BC, CNRN, CCRN, FAHA
2018 Mitchell S. V. Elkind, MD, MS, FAHA
2010 Michael Sloan, MD, FAAN, FAHA
2017 Lee H. Schwamm, MD
2009 Pamela Duncan, PT, PhD, FAPTA, FAHA
2016 Sandra A. Billinger, PT, PhD, FAHA
2008 Vladimir Hachinski, CM, MD, FRCPC, DSc, FAHA
2015 Lewis B. Morgenstern MD FAHA
2007 Margaret Kelly-Hayes, EdD, RN, FAAN, FAHA
2014 Cathy A. Sila, MD, FAHA
2006 Jeffrey Saver, MD, FAHA
2013 Edward Jauch, MD, MS, FAHA, FACEP
2005 Anne Leonard, RN, BSN, MPH, FAHA

Eligibility Criteria

The Stroke Council leadership will select an honoree who meets the following criteria:

  • Candidate has made meritorious contributions within the ASA and AHA.
  • Candidate is a leader in the field of stroke as measured by his or her reputation in research, clinical care or education (preferably with contributions in more than one area).
  • Candidate has made significant contributions to promoting awareness of cerebrovascular disease and its importance in the cardiovascular community in research and service.
  • Candidate is a current partner of the AHA Stroke Council at any level.


The honoree will be acknowledged in Connections, the AHA council newsletter, as well as the Scientific Sessions program. The honoree will present a state-of-the-art lecture on the topic of his or her choice at Scientific Sessions.

The honoree will also receive the following:

  • $1500 honorarium
  • Engraved plaque
  • Complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions
  • Round-trip coach airfare to attend Scientific Sessions
  • One night’s hotel accommodations, ground transportation, and one day’s subsistence at the Scientific Sessions



black male doctor

American Heart Association Professional Membership

Renew or join as a Professional Member today to make a difference.

heart and torch background gray logo

Scientific Sessions 2020

Nov. 13-17, 2020
Join us for a Virtual Experience