

AHA Council on Hypertension AHA Council on Kidney in Cardiovascular Disease American Society of Hypertension Joint Scientific Sessions 2017

The Excellence Award for Hypertension Research

Supported by a grant from Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Saturday, September 16, 2017



Microneurographic Studies of Sympathetic Neural Mechanisms in Human Hypertension

Allyn L. Mark, MD Professor of Medicine, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine



CYP Eiconosanoids, Hypertension, Renal Injury and Dementia

Richard J. Roman, PhD Billy S. Gutyon Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology, University of Mississippi Medical Center

Lectures 5:45 рм Grand Ballroom

Reception

7:30 рм Lower/Upper Atrium Pre-registration or invitation only (ticket required for entrance to the Reception)

Dinner 8:00 рм

Grand Ballroom Pre-registration or invitation only (ticket required for entrance Dinner)

Conference Awards



Irvine Page-Alva Bradley Lifetime Achievement Award

Gregory Fink, PhD, Michigan State University

The Lifetime Achievement Award is named in honor of Dr. Irvine Page and Mr. Alva Bradley, who played prominent roles in establishing the National Foundation for High Blood Pressure Research in 1945. The foundation became the Council on Hypertension of the American Heart Association.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented each year to an individual who has had a lifetime of outstanding achievements in the field of hypertension and has served as a role model through service, research and teaching. Recipients have generally had a career spanning at least 25 years. We are pleased to present this year's award to **Gregory Fink, PhD**, Michigan State University. Please join us for the presentation during the Annual Business Meeting and Conference Awards Luncheon at noon Saturday, September 16, in the Grand Ballroom BC. *(Please note this is a ticketed event.)*



Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Lecture

Tomasz J. Guzik, MD, PhD, FRCP, FACP, University of Glasgow School of Medicine

The Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Lecture was established in 1977 to honor Dr. Arthur C. Corcoran for his early application of clearance methods in both hypertensive patients and animals. The lecture will be presented by **Tomasz J. Guzik, MD, PhD** at 2:10-2:40 PM Friday, September 15.



The Lewis K. Dahl Memorial Lecture

Satoru Eguchi, MD, PhD, FAHA, Temple University Lewis Katz School of Medicine

The Lewis K. Dahl Memorial Lecture was established in 1988 by the Council for Hypertension in honor of Dr. Dahl's pioneering work on the relations between salt, the kidney and hypertension, and the establishment of a major genetically based experimental model of hypertension, the Dahl salt-sensitive rat. **Satoru Eguchi, MD, PhD**, will present the lecture at 7:30-8:00 AM Sunday, September 17.



The Harriet Dustan Award

Kate Maude Denton, PhD, Monash University

The Harriet Dustan Award recognizes female investigators who have made outstanding contributions in the field of hypertension. This award was established to honor the memory of Dr. Harriet Dustan, an outstanding clinician and investigator who was a tireless worker on behalf of the Council on Hypertension and the American Heart Association for more than 50 years. In addition to her numerous career achievements, Dr. Dustan served the AHA as president, chaired its Ethics and Research Committees and was the founding editor-in-chief of *Hypertension*. This year's honoree, **Kate Maude Denton, PhD**, will present her lecture at 10:00-10:30 AM Saturday, September 16.



The Donald Seldin Lecture

Donald E. Kohan, MD, PhD, University of Utah Health Sciences Center

The Donald Seldin Lecture honors Dr. Donald Seldin, a pioneer and leader in the field of cardiovascular disease as it relates to kidney failure. This lecture continues to raise the awareness about the rising epidemic of cardiovascular disease and mortality in patients with chronic kidney disease. The lecture will be presented by **Donald E. Kohan, MD, PhD**, at 7:30-8:00 AM Saturday, September 16.



Mid-Career Award for Research Excellence

Alexander Staruschenko, PhD, Medical College of Wisconsin

This award recognizes a mid-career investigator active in hypertension or cardiovascular research. This year's winner, **Alexander Staruschenko, PhD** was selected for his major contributions to the field of hypertension. He will present at 4:30-4:50 PM. Friday, September 15.



The Harry Goldblatt New Investigator Award

Adam C. Straub, PhD, University of Pittsburgh

The award recognizes a new independent investigator working in hypertension or cardiovascular research who has significantly contributed to the understanding of the causes of hypertension and related cardiovascular disease.

The award is named after Dr. Harry Goldblatt, a pathologist who established the first animal model of hypertension in 1934. This model provided researchers with the tools to delineate the renin-angiotensin system of blood pressure control and, eventually, to design enzyme inhibitors for the treatment of chronic hypertension. This year's winner, **Adam C. Straub**, **PhD**, will present at 4:50-5:05 PM Friday, September 15.

Council Distinguished Achievement Awards

Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the affairs of a scientific council over a continuing period, and have made substantial professional contributions to the field represented by the council. This award was created in 1980 to recognize AHA/ASA members for significant, original and sustained scientific contributions to new knowledge, teaching and clinical care that have advanced the association's mission "Building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke."



Council on Hypertension Distinguished Achievement Award

Gregory Fink, PhD, Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan

Dr. Fink will be recognized at the Annual Business Meeting and Conference Awards Luncheon on Saturday, September 16, from 12:00-1:30 PM in the Grand Ballroom BC.



Council on the Kidney in Cardiovascular Disease Distinguished Achievement Award

David Ellison, MD, FAHA, Professor Oregon Clinical and Translational Research Institute, Portland, Oregon

Dr. Ellison will be recognized at the Annual Business Meeting and Conference Awards Luncheon on Saturday, September 16, from 12:00-1:30 PM in the Grand Ballroom BC.