A Look Inside Vascular Discovery Meeting



ne of the Council on
Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis
and Vascular Biology's most
anticipated events is the annual
Vascular Discovery Meeting, organized
in collaboration with the Peripheral
Vascular Disease and Genomic and
Precision Medicine councils.

This year, attendees met in beautiful downtown Boston, where exciting science was highlighted in invited lectures and abstract presentations.

Thanks to the chair of the Program Committee, Katey Rayner, for her past two years of service. We welcome Kathleen Martin as the incoming chair and Peter Henke as chair-elect. We look forward to seeing the great programming that will be showcased under their leadership.

For those who could not make the meeting, here are a few of the highlights:

- Dr. Masanori Aikawa was selected for the Jeffrey M. Hoeg Award for Basic Science and Clinical Research and presented a wonderful lecture on Systems Approach to Target Discovery for Macrophage Activation and Vascular Disease.
- Karen Hirsci, PhD talked about Regulation of Endothelial Cell Specification in Development and Disease as the Keynote Lecturer.
- Deepak Bhatt, MD, MPH, FACC, FAHA, FESC, MSCAI discussed Advances in Omega-3 Fatty Acid Research in the Distinguished Lecture.

The ATVB Council also sponsors numerous awards for different career levels:

 Finalists for the Investigator in Training Award were Yannick Cyr, PhD; Kelsey Jarrett, PhD; Kevin Magnum, MD, PhD; and Victoria Osinski, PhD. Yannick Cyr was selected as the winner. The ATVB Council is also honored to present numerous travel grants this year. Twenty early career investigators were offered a travel stipend to attend the conference:

Anu Aggarwal, PhD
Adedoyin Akinlonu, MD
José Gabriel Barcia Durán, PhD
Jack Bontekoe, MD
Mayank Choubey, PhD
Jaser Doja, BS
Matthew Dungan, BS
Wenduo Gu, PhD
Mariia Kumskova, MD
Melissa Lempicki, BS

Omar Loya Alishba Maira, MSc Sujith Rajan, PhD Erika Savage Bhupesh Singla, PhD Danesh Sopariwala, PhD Anthony Spuzzillo, BS Qian Xu, MD Samantha Xu, MPH Wei Zhang, PhD.

In addition, two travel grants, awarded to **Azuah Gonzalez**, **BS** and **Andrea Palos-Jasso,BS** were sponsored by the ATVB Diversity Committee sponsored travel grants to assist in ensuring that members from underrepresented ethnic and racial backgrounds attended the conference.



Travel Grant Winners pictured with Dr. Tsao

- The winner of the Irvine H. Page Young Investigator Research Award was Jesse Williams, PhD and finalists were Scott Gordon, PhD; Rajat Gupta, MD; and Arif Yurdagul, PhD.
- The Kenneth M. Brinkhous Early Career Investigator Prize in Thrombosis also had four finalists: Frederik Denorme, PhD; Colin Evans, PhD; Li Guo, MD, PhD; and Woosuk Hur, PhD. Frederik Denorme, PhD won the award.
- Anne Sumner, MD, FAHA, received the ATVB Diversity Committee's Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Recognition Award.

The ATVB Women's Leadership Committee supports two major awards for women during Vascular Discovery:

- The Outstanding Mentorship of Women Award was presented to Hong Wang, MD, PhD, EMBA, during the Mentor of Women Luncheon.
- The Emerging Scientist Award for Women is granted to the women with the top highest scoring abstracts. The five finalists were: Meenakshi Banerjee, PhD; Caitlin Bell, MD; Irina Portier, PhD; Sheila Sharma, BS, ScM; and Mikala Zelows, BS. Each presented their posters during the Poster Session. The winner was Meenakshi Banerjee, PhD.

The Women's Leadership Committee, chaired by Dr. Hanrui Zhang, also had a networking panel discussion with featured guests from the community. These events granted participants the opportunity to network and mingle—something that we were all looking forward to during the conference.

Finally, in regard to programming, the ATVB Early Career Committee, chaired by Dr. Robert Bauer, is as robust as always, and plans tremendous events for the early career folks who attend our conference. They hosted two morning sessions, one Thursday and one Friday. Thursday morning's session was an academic round-round table discussion and Friday's focus was on industry discussion. Both events were well attended.

As stated above, the Diversity
Committee, chaired by Dr. Francine
Welty, were heavily involved in
the program, and hosted a Career
Development Session titled, "Inclusive
Mentoring" which focused on increasing
diversity in mentorship and lab settings.

Another opportunity for engagement initiated this year is Council Office Hours, an online opportunity where council members can drop by, chat

and have a relaxed discussion about topics of interest. Through these forums, we hope to hear from current and prospective members as to what is important about the ATVB Council specifically and AHA generally, and how we can increase the value of the council to investigators of all career stages. We also envision Council Office Hours as a place to provide more transparency and context to council operations.

During our first session, we focused on two general questions: "What can we do for you in terms of membership, and what are you most looking forward to at Vascular Discovery?" We had a lively session in which we covered topics including how members can get involved with different council committees; novel opportunities to contribute content to our flagship journal; and topics for future scientific webinars.

Look out for future Office Hours and please send along suggested topics you would like to discuss.

Thanks for your continued commitment to ATVB. Stay safe, stay well and be kind to one another.

The AHA Mentoring
Program provides
a unique opportunity
for young members to
connect with and benefit
from the experience and
knowledge of our most
passionate members.
Whether you choose
to become a mentor or
a mentee, you will be
involved in goal-setting
and creation of an action
plan to reach those goals.
Learn more.

