Distinguished Scientists

The Distinguished Scientist designation honors American Heart Association professional members who have made extraordinary contributions to cardiovascular and stroke research.

The American Heart Association's Distinguished Scientists are a prominent group of scientists and clinicians whose work has importantly advanced our understanding of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. This award was created over 10 years ago to recognize AHA/ASA members for significant, original and sustained scientific contributions that have advanced the association's mission "Building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke." Recipients of this prestigious award are honored during the Opening Session at AHA Scientific Sessions.

2016 AHA Distinguished Scientists Awardees

Stephen L. Archer, MD, FAHAStephen L. Archer, MD, FAHA
Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Mitochondrial Dynamics and Translational Medicine
Professor and Head, Department of Medicine
Queen’s University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Leon Axel, MD, PhD, FAHALeon Axel, MD, PhD, FAHA
Professor of Radiology, Medicine, and Neuroscience and Physiology
New York University School of Medicine
New York, N.Y.
Gregory L. Burke, MD, MSc, FAHAGregory L. Burke, MD, MSc, FAHA
Professor and Director Division of Public Health Sciences
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Winston-Salem, N.C.
Tiny Jaarsma, PhD, FAHATiny Jaarsma, PhD, FAHA
Professor of Nursing
University of Linköping
Linköping, Sweden
Klaus F. Ley, MD, FAHAKlaus F. Ley, MD, FAHA
Professor and Head Division of Inflammation Biology
La Jolla Institute for Allergy & Immunology
La Jolla, Calif.